Mathias Brieu

Mathias Brieu, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair

Office: E&T A-206
Phone: (323) 343-4489
Email: [email protected]

Mechanics of Polymer and Bio-Polymer Materials, Design of Medical Implants and Medical Devices

Visit Dr. Brieu's Homepage

J. Chris Bachman

J. Chris Bachman, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor
University Outstanding Professor
Award Recipient

Office: E&T A-135
Phone: (323) 343-4477
Email: [email protected]

Batteries, fuel cells, supercapacitors, electrochemistry, sustainable engineering, and education

Visit Dr. Bachman's Homepage

moshen eshraghi

Mohsen Eshraghi, Ph.D.
M.S.E. Program Director

Office: E&T A-218
Phone: (323) 343-5218
Email: [email protected]

Materials Science, Manufacturing, Numerical Modeling, Lattice Boltzmann Method

Visit Dr. Eshraghi's Homepage

Travis Shihao Hu

Travis Hu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Principal Graduate Advisor

Office: E&T A-429a
Phone: (323) 343-4486
Email: [email protected]

Nanomechanics and Nanomaterials of Engineering and Biological Systems; Interfacial Phenomena; Bioinspiration and Biomimetics; Multiscale Modeling and Simulation

Visit Dr. Hu's Homepage

Jim Kuo

Jim Kuo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Assessment Coordinator

Office: E&T A-136
Phone: (323) 343-4496
Email: [email protected] 

Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Optimization, Renewable Energy, Sustainability

Visit Dr. Kuo's Homepage

Samuel Landsberger

Samuel Landsberger, Sc.D.
Professor, FERP*

Office: E&T A-334
Email: [email protected]

Rehabilitation Engineering, Sustainable Engineering, Design and Analysis Pedagogy, Kinematics

Visit Dr. Landsberger's Homepage

Mario Medina

Mario Medina, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: E&T A-429b
Phone: (323) 343-4485
Email: [email protected]

Fluid Mechanics, Spray Physics, Combustion, Aerosol Sampling and Transport, and Optical Diagnostics

Arturo Pacheco-Vega

Arturo Pacheco-Vega, Ph.D.
Professor and ECST Research Director

Office: E&T A-410
Phone: (323) 343-4492
Email: [email protected]

Fluid Mechanics; Heat Transfer; Energy Systems; Thermal Control; Electronic Cooling; Dynamical Systems; System Optimization; Soft Computing

Visit Dr. Pachecho-Vega's Homepage

trinh pham

Trinh Pham, Ph.D.

Phone: (323) 343-3855
Email: [email protected]

Visit Dr. Trinh Pham's Homepage
dave raymond

David Raymond, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor and Associate Chair

Office: E&T A-204
Phone: (323) 343-4494
Email: [email protected]

Impact Biomechanics and Human Tolerance; Injury Prevention and Safety Systems; Forensic Engineering and Forensic Technology Development

Visit Dr. Raymond's Homepage

Salvador Rojas

Salvador Rojas, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: E&T A-208
Phone: (323) 343-xxxx
Email: [email protected]


Biomimetics, Robotics, Metamaterials, Deployable and Morphing Structures, Advanced Material Manufacturing

maritza sanchez

Maritza Sanchez, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: E&T A-207
Phone: (323) 343-4515
Email: [email protected]

Materials science; synthesis, processing, and testing of ceramic materials; materials characterization; ultra-high temperature ceramic (UHTCs) materials

Jeffrey Santner

Jeffrey Santner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Principal Undergraduate Advisor

Office: E&T A-131
Phone: (323) 343-4475
Email: [email protected]

Combustion Chemistry, Flame Dynamics

Visit Dr. Santner's Homepage

Adel Sharif

Adel Sharif, Ph.D., P.E.

Office: E&T C-156b
Phone: (323) 343-4478
Email: [email protected]

Materials Science and Engineering, Solid Mechanics, and Machine Design

Visit Dr. Sharif's Homepage

*(FERP) Faculty Early Retirement Program - Faculty work up to 50% of their regular time base.

Emeriti: Emily Allen, Samuel Landsberger, Neda S. Fabris, Stephen F. Felszeghy, Philip I Gold, Darrell Guillaume, Lih-Min Hsia, Raymond B. Landis, Michael J. Maurer, Majdedin Mirmirani, Richard D. Roberto.

Department Coordinator

Mayra Alonzo

Mayra Alonzo, Coordinator, Department of Mechanical Engineering
[email protected] | E&T A-205 | Tel (323)343-4490 | Fax (323)343-5004


M.E. Lecturers

Last Name First Name Email
Chabok Hamid Reza [email protected]
Choi Sang Bum [email protected]
DeBerardinis Jessica [email protected]
Ebrahimi Hamid [email protected]
Griffis Kris [email protected]
Hakimian Alireza [email protected]
Hartunian Patrick [email protected]
Hernandez Everardo [email protected]
Herwerth Christopher [email protected]
Hong Chris [email protected]
Khashayar Kamyar [email protected]
Linker Seth [email protected]u
Martinez David [email protected]
Movahed Saeid [email protected]
Park Austin [email protected]
Parvin Michael [email protected]
Ploen Scott [email protected]
Tohid Usama [email protected]

Department Contact

Mechanical Engineering
[email protected] E&T, A-205 | Tel (323) 343-4490 | Fax (323) 343-5004