Degrees & Programs

How to Apply

For information regarding the application process, please visit the Admissions and Recruitment website.

Contact departmental graduate advisors, listed below, for additional program-specific information.

Graduate Degrees and Programs

Master's

Master's Program and Options Faculty Advisor Links

Accountancy, M.S.

  • Accounting Information Systems
  • Financial and Public Accounting
  • Taxation

Rafik Elias, PhD

(323) 343–2850

relias@calstatela.edu

Anthropology, M.A.

  • Archaeology
  • Biological Anthropology
  • Cultural Anthropology

René Vellanoweth, PhD

(323) 343–2440

rvellan@calstatela.edu

Art, M.A.

Rebecca Davis, PhD

(323) 343-4013

rdavis@calstatela.edu

 
  • Art Education

Mika Cho

(323) 343–4013

mcho@calstatela.edu

 

Dustin Garnet

(323) 343-4024

dustin.garnet@calstatela.edu

  • Art History

Manuel Aguilar

(323) 343-4054

maguila2@calstatela.edu

 

Luis Bermúdez

(323) 343-4042

lbermud@calstatela.edu

  • Fashion, Fiber and Materials

Carole Lung

(323) 343-4047

clung2@calstatela.edu

  • Design

Sarah Beeby

(323) 343-3041

sbeeby@calstatela.edu

 

Michael Henderson

(323) 343-4035

mhender@calstatela.edu

 

Jimmy Moss

(323) 343-4025

jimmy.moss@calstatela.edu

 

Jim Ovelmen

(323) 343-4033

 

Connie Utterback

(323) 343-4026

cutterb@calstatela.edu

  • Studio Arts

Luis Bermudez

(323) 343-4042

lbermud@calstatela.edu

 

Tim Ebner

(323) 343-4020

tebner@calstatela.edu

 

Robert Martin

(323) 343-4029

rjmartin@calstatela.edu

 

Richard Wearn

(323) 343-4048

rwearn@calstatela.edu

Art, MFA

  • Studio Arts
  • Design

Luis Bermúdez, M.A., MFA

(323) 343–4042

lbermud@calstatela.edu

Biology, MS

Kirsten Fisher, PhD

(323) 343–2089

kfisher2@calstatela.edu

 

Business Administration, MBA

  • Main Track
  • Fully-Employed Track (FEMBA)

 

Dr. Stephen McGuire

(323) 343–2897

smcguir@exchange.calstatela.edu

Business Administration, M.S.

  • Finance
  • Human Resource Management
  • International Business
  • Leadership and Management
  • Marketing
  • New Venture Management
  • Customized Option

Dr. Stephen McGuire

(323) 343–2897

smcguir@exchange.calstatela.edu

Chemistry, M.S.

  • Biochemistry

Xin Wen, PhD

(323) 343–2310

xwen3@calstatela.edu

Child Development, M.A.

Allison Fuligni, PhD

(323) 343–4590

afulign@calstatela.edu

Civil Engineering, M.S.

Mark Tufenkjian, PhD

(323) 343–4434

mtufenk@calstatela.edu

Communication Studies, M.A

 

 
  • Communication

Mu Wu, PhD

(323) 343–4268

mwu33@calstatela.edu

  • Television and Film

Suzanne Regan, PhD

(323) 343–4206

sregan@calstatela.edu

Communicative Disorders, M.A.

  • Audiology
  • Speech-Language Pathology

Cari Flint, PhD

(323) 343–4690

cflint@calstatela.edu

Computer Science, M.S.

Behzad Parviz, PhD

(323) 343–6696

bparviz@calstatela.edu

Counseling, M.S.    
  • Applied Behavior Analysis

Michele Wallace, PhD

(323) 343–4768

mwallac@calstatela.edu

  • Marriage and Family Therapy

Emily Hernandez, EdD, LMFT

(323) 343–4424

ehern177@calstatela.edu

  • Rehabilitation Counseling

Heidi Paul, PhD

(323) 343–4439

hpaul@calstatela.edu

  • School-Based Family Counseling

Emily Hernandez, EdD, LMFT

(323) 343–4424

ehern177@calstatela.edu

  • School Psychology

Elina Saeki, PhD

(323) 343–4448

esaeki@calstatela.edu

Criminal Justice, M.S.

Donald Johnson, PhD

(323) 343–4620

djohnso5@calstatela.edu

Criminalistics, M.S.

Donald Johnson, PhD

(323) 343–4620

djohnso5@calstatela.edu

Economics, M.A.

  • Financial Economics
  • Global Economics
  • Public Policy Economics

Madhu Mohanty, PhD

(323) 343–2897

mmohant@calstatela.edu

Education, M.A.    
  • Bilingual/Multicultural Education in the Urban Classroom

Mario Castaneda, PhD

(323) 343–5468

mcastan7@calstatela.edu

  • Curriculum and Instruction
TBD
  • Early Childhood & Primary Education

Ambika Raj, PhD

(323) 343–6267

agopala@calstatela.edu

  • Educational Foundations

Carlos Tejeda, PhD

(323) 343–6182

ctejeda3@calstatela.edu

  • Educational Technology Leadership

Pearl Chen, PhD

(323) 343-6147

hchen6@calstatela.edu

 

Adelaide Doyle-Nichols, PhD

(323) 343-4336

adoylen@calstatela.edu

 

Manisha Javeri, PhD

(323) 343–6142

mjaveri@calstatela.edu

 

  • E-Learning and New Media Design

Pearl Chen, PhD

(323) 343-6147

hchen6@calstatela.edu

 

Adelaide Doyle-Nichols, PhD

(323) 343-4336

adoylen@calstatela.edu

 

Manisha Javeri, PhD

(323) 343–6142

mjaveri@calstatela.edu

  • Integrated STEM Teaching

A. Dee Williams, PhD

(323) 343-6168

awillia6@calstatela.edu

 

  • Mathematics Education

Frederick Uy, PhD

(323) 343–4350

fuy@calstatela.edu

 

  • Reading

Jennifer Mc Cormick, PhD

(323) 343-4350

jmccorm3@calstatela.edu

  • Research and Evaluation

Deborah M. Oh, PhD

(323) 343-6155

doh2@calstatela.edu

Educational Administration, M.A.

Lori Kim, PhD

(323) 343–4393

lkim@calstatela.edu

Electrical Engineering, M.S.

Fred Daneshgaran, PhD

(323) 343–4480

fdanesh@calstatela.edu

 

Arash Jamehbozorg, PhD

(323) 343-4479

ajamehb@calstatela.edu

 

Charles Liu, PhD

(323) 343-5802

cliu@calstatela.edu

English, M.A.

Atef Laouyene, M.A.

(323) 343- 4291

alaouye@calstatela.edu

Environmental Science, M.S

Jingjing Li, PhD 

jli104@calstatela.edu

(323) 343–2224

  • Environmental Biology

Kirsten Fisher, PhD

kfisher2@calstatela.edu

(323) 343–2089

  • Environmental Engineering Science

Gustavo Menezes, PhD 

gmeneze@calstatela.edu 

(323) 343–4578

  • Environmental Hydrology

Andre Ellis, PhD  

aellis3@calstatela.edu

(323) 343–2411

  • Geospatial Sciences

Jingjing Li, PhD 

jli104@calstatela.edu

(323) 343–2224

Geological Sciences, M.S.

  • Geology
  • Environmental Hydrogeology

Jennifer Garrison, PhD

(323) 343–2412

jgarris@calstatela.edu

Healthcare Management, MBA, MSBA, M.S.

Andre Avramchuk, PhD

(323) 343–2905

aavramc@calstatela.edu

History, M.A.

Birte Pfleger, PhD

(323) 343–2044

bpfleg@calstatela.edu

 

Choi Chatterjee, PhD

(323) 343–2023

cchatte@calstatela.edu

Industrial and Technical Studies, M.A.

Mauricio Castillo, PhD

(323) 343–4573

mcastil2@calstatela.edu

Information Systems, M.S.

Nanda Ganesan, PhD

(323) 343–2928

nganesa@calstatela.edu

Interdisciplinary Studies, M.A., M.S.

Karin Elliott Brown, PhD

(323) 343–3820

gradstudies@calstatela.edu

Kinesiology, M.S.

  • Exercise Science
  • Pedagogy and Physical Activity

Stefan Keslacy, PhD

(323) 343–4654

skeslac@calstatela.edu

Latin American Studies, M.A.

Ericka Verba, PhD

(323) 343–2186

everba@calstatela.edu

Mathematics, M.S.

  • Applied Mathematics
  • General Mathematics

Vladimir Akis, PhD

(323) 343–6694

vakis@calstatela.edu

Mexican-American Studies, M.A.

Ester Hernandez, PhD

(323) 343–5349

eherna17@calstatela.edu

Mechanical Engineering, M.S.

Arturo Pacheco-Vega, PhD

(323) 343–4492

apacheco@calstatela.edu

 

Arman Pazouki, PhD

(323) 343-4485

apazouk@calstatela.edu

 

Shihao Hu, PhD

(323) 343- 4486

shu17@calstatela.edu

 

Nancy Warter-Perez

(323) 343-5927

nwarter@calstatela.edu

Music, M.A.

John Kennedy, A.Mus.D.

(323) 343–4084

jkenned@calstatela.edu

Music, M.M.

  • Afro-Latin
  • Composition
  • Commercial Music
  • Conducting
  • Music Education
  • Performance

John Kennedy, A.Mus.D.

(323) 343–4084

jkenned@calstatela.edu

 

Nursing, M.S.

  • Nursing Administration
  • Nursing Education
  • Nurse Practitioner
    • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care
    • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care
    • Family
    • Psychiatric/Mental Health
TBD
Nutritional Science, M.S.

Stefan Keslacy, PhD

(323) 343–4654

skeslac@calstatela.edu

Philosophy, M.A.

David Pitt, PhD

(323) 343–4192

dpitt@calstatela.edu

 

Mark Balaguer, PhD

(323) 343–4189

mbalagu@calstatela.edu

 

Michael Shim, PhD

(323) 343–5942

mshim@exchange.calstatela.edu

 

Richard Dean, PhD

(323) 343–4182

rdean@calstatela.edu

Physics, M.S.

William Taylor, PhD

(323) 343–2108

wtaylor@calstatela.edu

Political Science, M.A.

Taylor Dark, PhD

(323) 343–2247

tdark@calstatela.edu

Psychology, M.A.

Ghaithri Fernando, PhD

(323) 343–2260

gfernan2@calstatela.edu

Psychology, M.S.

  • Forensic Psychology

Mitchell Eisen, PhD

(323) 343–5006

meisen@calstatela.edu

Public Administration, MPA

Jessica DeShazo, PhD

(323) 343–2245

jdeshaz@calstatela.edu

Social Work, MSW

Anh-Luu Huynh-Hohnbaum, PhD

(323) 343–5883

ahuynhh@exchange.calstatela.edu

 

Valentine Villa, PhD

(Gerontology; Thesis Coordinator)

(323) 343–4724

vvilla@calstatela.edu

Sociology, M.A.

Cristina Bodinger-DeUriarte, PhD

(323) 343–2200

cboding@exchange.calstatela.edu

Spanish, M.A.

Paola Marin, PhD

(323) 343–4239

pmarin@calstatela.edu

Special Education, M.A.

 

 

  • Autism

Jennifer Symon, PhD

(323) 343–4429

jsymon@calstatela.edu

  • Early Childhood Special Education

Jilly Chang, PhD

(323) 343–6154

ychang27@calstatela.edu

  • Mild/Moderate Disabilities

Anna Osipova, PhD

(323) 343–6152

aosipov@calstatela.edu

 

  • Moderate/Severe Disabilities

Christina Kimm, PhD

(323) 343–4416

ckimm@calstatela.edu

  • Multicultural/Multilingual Special Education

Andrea Zetlin, PhD

(323) 343–4420

azetlin@calstatela.edu

  • Physical and Health Impairments

Sherry Best, PhD

(323) 343–4407

sbest@calstatela.edu

  • Visual Impairments and Blindness
    • Orientation and Mobility

Diane Fazzi, PhD

(323) 343–4303

dfazzi@calstatela.edu

 

Brenda Naimy, MA

(323) 343–4411

bnaimy@calstatela.edu

  • Visual Impairments and Blindness
    • Teacher Preparation

Cheryl Kamei-Hannan, PhD

(323) 343–6297

ckameih@calstatela.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), M.A.

Bahiyyih Hardacre de Cerqueira, PhD

(323) 343-6181

bcerque@calstatela.edu

 

Lia Kamhi-Stein, PhD

(323) 343–5506

lkamhis@calstatela.edu

 

M. Ann Snow, PhD

(323) 343–4373

asnow@calstatela.edu

Television, Film and Theatre, MFA

  • Acting
  • Production
  • Writing

Tanya Kane-Parry, MFA

(323) 343–4110

tkanepa@calstatela.edu

Doctoral

Doctoral Program Faculty or Staff Advisor Links
Educational Leadership, EdD

Sharon Ulanoff, PhD

(323) 343–6164

sulanof@calstatela.edu 

 

Anne Hafner, PhD

ahafner@calstatela.edu

Nursing Practice, DNP
(Consortium with Cal State Long Beach, CSU Fullerton, and Cal State LA)

Sarah Douville, MBA

(657) 278–3336

dnp@fullerton.edu

Special Education, PhD
(Cal State LA–UCLA Joint Program)

Lois Weinberg, PhD

(323) 343–4399

lweinbe@calstatela.edu

Postbaccalaureate Certificate

Certificate Program Faculty of Staff Advisor Links

Advanced Information Systems Certificate

TBD

Bilingualism and Global Education Certificate

Agustin Cervantes, M.A.

(323) 343–4320

acerva47@calstatela.edu

Biotechnology Certificate

Howard Xu, PhD

(323) 343–2188

hxu3@calstatela.edu

Clinical Genetic Molecular Biology Science Certificate

College of Professional and Global Education

(323) 343–4900

page@calstatela.edu

Clinical Laboratory Science Certificate

College of Professional and Global Education

(323) 343–4900

page@calstatela.edu

Counseling Certificates

  • Applied Behavior Analysis

  • Higher Education and Career Counseling

  • Clinical Counseling

Martin Brodwin (Higher Ed, Clinical)

(323) 343-4440

mbrodwi@calstatela.edu

 

David Peterson (Higher Ed, Clinical)

(323) 343-6161

dpeters3@calstatela.edu

 

Randy Campbell (Applied Behavior Analysis)

(323) 343-6147

rcampbe@calstatela.edu

Educational Technology Certificates

  • Computer Applications in Schools (CAS)

  • Online Teaching and Learning (COTL)

Pearl Chen, PhD

(323) 343-6147

hchen6@calstatela.edu

 

Adelaide Doyle-Nicols, PhD

(323) 343-4336

adoylen@calstatela.edu

 

Manisha Javeri, PhD

(323) 343-6142

mjaveri@calstatela.edu

Geographic Information Systems Certificate

Hengchun Ye, PhD

(323) 343–2229

hye2@calstatela.edu

Healthcare Leadership Certificate TBD

Pre-Health Professionals Certificate

  • Option I
  • Option II

Hyunsook Park, PhD

(323) 343–5284

hpark8@calstatela.edu

Reading Certificates

  • California Reading
  • Postsecondary Reading

Agustin Cervantes, M.A.

(323) 343–4320

acerva47@calstatela.edu

Real Estate Certificate

TBA

Special Education Certificates

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders (Certificate)

  • Educational Therapy

  • Teaching Learners with Special Needs in General Education Classrooms

  • Transition Specialist

Jennifer Symon (Autism)

(323) 343-4429

jsymon@calstatela.edu

 

Holly Menzies (Ed. Therapy)

(323) 343-4400

hmenzie@calstatela.edu

 

Teaching - TBD

 

Christina Kimm (Transition Specialist)

(323) 343-4461

ckimm@calstatela.edu

Storytelling for Teachers and Classrooms Certificate

Agustin Cervantes, M.A.

(323) 343–4320

acerva47@calstatela.edu

Teaching English as a Second Language Certificates

  • English as a Second or Foreign Language (ESL/EFL)

  • Teachers of English Learners

Lia Kamhi-Stein, PhD

(323) 343–5506

lkamhis@calstatela.edu

 

Bahiyyi Hardacre de Cerqueita, PhD

(323) 343-6181

bcerque@calstatela.edu

 

M. Ann Snow, PhD

(323) 343-4330

asnow@calstatela.edu

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Certificate

Dionne Espinoza, PhD

(323) 343–4137

despino@calstatela.edu

Credential

Credential Program Staff Advisor Links

Education Specialist Credentials (Special Education)

  • Education Specialist Intern 
  • Early Childhood Special Education
  • Mild to Moderate Disabilities
  • Moderate to Severe Disabilities
  • Physical and Health Impairments
  • Visual Impairments

Agustin Cervantes, M.A.

(323) 343–4320

acerva47@calstatela.edu

Professional Credentials (Education)

  • Preliminary Administrative Services
  • Clear Induction Administrative Services
  • Orientation and Mobility
  • School-Based Family Counseling (MFT with PPS Credential in School Counseling)
  • School Psychology (with PPS Credential in School Psychology)

Agustin Cervantes, M.A.

(323) 343–4320

acerva47@calstatela.edu

Speech-Language Pathology Services Credential in Language, Speech, and Hearing

Saul Pineda

(323) 343–4754

spined10@calstatela.edu

Teaching Credentials

  • Los Angeles Urban Teacher Residency (LAUTR)
  • Multiple Subject
  • Reading and Literacy Leadership Specialist 
  • Single Subject

Agustin Cervantes, M.A.

(323) 343–4320

acerva47@calstatela.edu