Degrees & Programs

 

How to Apply

For information regarding the application process, please visit the Admissions and Recruitment website.

Contact departmental graduate advisors, listed below, for additional program-specific information.

Graduate Degrees and Programs

Master's

Master's Program and Options Faculty Advisor Links

Accountancy, M.S.

  • Accounting Information Systems

  • Financial and Public Accounting

  • Taxation

Edward Monsour

(323)343-2839

emonsou@calstatela.edu 

 

Dong-Woo Lee (For students' last name from A-M)

(323) 343-2850

dwlee@calstatela.edu

 

Rafik Elias  (For students' last name from N-Z)

(323) 343-2850

relias@calstatela.edu

Anthropology, M.A.

  • Archaeology
  • Biological Anthropology
  • Cultural Anthropology

Beth Baker

(323) 343–2440

bbakerc@calstatela.edu

Art, M.A.

Luis Bermudez

(323) 343-4042

lbermud@lstatela.edu

  • Art Education

Mika Cho

(323) 343–4013

mcho@calstatela.edu

 

Dustin Garnet

(323) 343-4024

dustin.garnet@calstatela.edu

  • Art History

Manuel Aguilar

(323) 343-4054

maguila2@calstatela.edu

 

Jenevive Nykolak

(323) 343-4035

jnkola@calstatela.edu

 

Luis Bermúdez

(323) 343-4042

lbermud@calstatela.edu

  • Fashion, Fiber and Materials

Carole Lung

(323) 343-4047

clung2@calstatela.edu

  • Design

 

Zachary Zezima

(323) 343-4021

zzezima@calstatela.edu

 

Jimmy Moss

(323) 343-4025

jimmy.moss@calstatela.edu

 

Jim Ovelmen

(323) 343-4033

 

Zachary Vernon

(323) 343-4027

zvernon@calstatela.edu

 

 

 

 

  • Studio Arts

Luis Bermudez

(323) 343-4042

lbermud@calstatela.edu

 

Tim Ebner

(323) 343-4020

tebner@calstatela.edu

 

Robert Martin

(323) 343-4029

rjmartin@calstatela.edu

 

Oliverio Rodriguez

(323) 343-4028

orodri58@calstatela.edu

 

Richard Wearn

(323) 343-4048

rwearn@calstatela.edu

 

 

Art, MFA

  • Studio Arts
  • Design

Luis Bermúdez

(323) 343–4042

lbermud@calstatela.edu

Biology, MS

Patrick Krug

(323) 343–2076

pkrug2@calstatela.edu

 

Business Administration, MBA

  • Main Track
  • Fully-Employed Track (FEMBA)

 

Dr. Min Shi

(323) 343–2895

mshi2@calstatela.edu

Business Administration, M.S.

  • Finance
  • Human Resource Management
  • International Business
  • Leadership and Management
  • Marketing
  • New Venture Management
  • Customized Option

 

 

 

Dr. Min Shi

(323) 343–2895

mshi2@calstatela.edu

Chemistry, M.S.

  • Biochemistry

Xin Wen

(323) 343–2310

xwen3@calstatela.edu

Child Development, M.A.

Allison Fuligni

(323) 343–5841

afulign@calstatela.edu

Civil Engineering, M.S.
 

Sonya Lopez

(323) 343–4455

slope188@calstatela.edu

 

Mark Tufenkjian

(323) 343–4434

mtufenk@calstatela.edu

 

Communication Studies, M.A

 

 
  • Communication

Mu Wu

(323) 343–4268

mwu33@calstatela.edu

  • Television, Film & Media Studies

Michael Clarke

(323) 343–4256

mclarke2@calstatela.edu

Communicative Disorders, M.A.

  • Speech-Language Pathology

Cari Flint

(323) 343–4758

cflint@calstatela.edu

Computer Science, M.S.

Behzad Parviz

(323) 343–6696

bparviz@calstatela.edu

 

Eun Young (Elaine) Kang

(323) 343–4513

eykang@calstatela.edu

Counseling, M.S.    
  • Applied Behavior Analysis

Michele Wallace

(323) 343–4768

mwallac@calstatela.edu

 

Mitch Fryling

(323) 343–4400

Mitchell.Fryling2@calstatela.edu

  • Rehabilitation Counseling

Heidi Paul

(323) 343–4439

hpaul@calstatela.edu

 

David Peterson

(323) 343–6161

dpeters3@calstatela.edu

  • School-Based Family Counseling

Michael Carter

(323) 343–4438

mcarter@calstatela.edu

 

Emily Hernandez

(323) 343–4424

ehern177@calstatela.edu

 

 

  • School Psychology

Elina Saeki

(323) 343–4448

esaeki@calstatela.edu

 

Leigh Ann Tipton

(323) 343–4280

ltipton@calstatela.edu

 

Kezia Gopaul-Knights

(323) 343–4350

kpersia@calstatela.edu

Criminalistics, M.S.

Katherine Roberts

(323) 343–4625

krobert2@calstatela.edu

Economics, M.A.

  • Financial Economics
  • Global Economics
  • Public Policy Economics

Madhu Mohanty

(323) 343–2897

mmohant@calstatela.edu

Education, M.A.    
  • Bilingual/Multicultural Education in the Urban Classroom

Kimberly Persiani

(323) 343–4350

kpersia@calstatela.edu

  • Curriculum and Instruction

Ambika G. Raj

(323) 343–6267

agopala@calstatela.edu

  • Early Childhood & Primary Education

Oona Fontanella-Nothom

(323) 343–4370

ofontan@calstatela.edu

  • Integrated STEM Teaching

A. Dee Williams

(323) 343-6168

awillia6@calstatela.edu

 

  • Research and Evaluation

Deborah M. Oh

(323) 343-6155

doh2@calstatela.edu

Educational Administration, M.A.

Albert Jones

(323) 343–4444

ajones4@calstatela.edu

 

Charles Flores

(323) 343–4337

cflor203@calstatela.edu

 

Educational Foundations, M.A. 

 

 

Carlos Tejeda

(323) 343–6182

ctejeda3@calstatela.edu

 

Allison Mattheis

(323) 343–4344

amatthe5@calstatela.edu

 

Ezekiel Joubert III

(323) 343–4338

eiouber@calstatela.edu

 

 

 

Educational Technology, MA

 

 

 

 

 

Track 1: Educational Technology Leadership

 

 

 

 

 

Track 2: E-Learning and New Media Design

 

 

 

Pearl Chen

(323) 343–6147

hchen6@calstatela.edu

 

 

 

Adelaide Doyle-Nichols

(323) 343–4336

adoylen@calstatela.edu

 

 

 

 

Manisha Javeri

(323) 343–6142

mjaveri@calstatela.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Electrical Engineering, M.S.

Fred Daneshgaran

(323) 343–4480

fdanesh@calstatela.edu

 

Arash Jamehbozorg

(323) 343-4479

ajamehb@calstatela.edu

 

Charles Liu

(323) 343-5802

cliu@calstatela.edu

English, M.A.

Kathryn Perry

(323) 343- 4292

kperry4@calstatela.edu

Environmental Science, M.S

Jingjing Li 

(323) 343–2224

jli104@calstatela.edu

Environmental Biology

Patricia Krug

(323) 343–2076

pkrug@calstatela.edu

Environmental Engineering Science

Gustavo Menezes

(323) 343–4578

gmeneze@calstatela.edu 

Environmental Hydrology

Andre Ellis

(323) 343–2411

aellis3@calstatela.edu

Geospatial Sciences

Jingjing Li

(323) 343–2224

jli104@calstatela.edu

Geography M.A.

 

Kris Bezdecny

kbezdec@calstatela.edu

 

 

Geological Sciences, M.S.

  • Geology
  • Environmental Hydrogeology

Rezaie-Boroon, Mohammad Hassan

(323) 343–2406

mrezaie@calstatela.edu

Healthcare Management, MBA, MSBA, M.S.

Andre Avramchuk

(323) 343–2905

aavramc@calstatela.edu

History, M.A.

 

Mark Wild (Fall 2020)

(323) 343–2020

mwild@calstatela.edu

 

Birte Pfleger (Spring 2021)

(323) 343–2044

bpfleg@calstatela.edu

 

 

Industrial and Technical Studies, M.A.

Mauricio Castillo

(323) 343–4573

mcastil2@calstatela.edu

 

Rupa Purasinghe

(323) 343–4459

rpurasi@calstatela.edu

 

Paul Liu

(323) 343–4570

pliu@calstatela.edu

 

 

Industrial Management, M.S.

 

Paul Liu

(323) 343–4570

pliu@calstatela.edu

 

 
Information Systems, M.S.

Nanda Ganesan

(323) 343–2989

nganesa@calstatela.edu

 

Shilpa Balan

(323) 343–5256

sbalan@calstatela.edu

 

Song XIng

(323) 343–29

sxing@calstatela.edu

 

Arun Aryal

(323) 343–2918

aaryal@calstatela.edu

Interdisciplinary Studies, M.A., M.S.

Karin Elliott Brown

(323) 343–3820

gradstudies@calstatela.edu

Kinesiology, M.S.

  • Exercise Science
  • Pedagogy and Physical Activity

Stefan Keslacy

(323) 343–4654

skeslac@calstatela.edu

Latin American Studies, M.A.

Alejandro Villalpando

(323) 343–2180

avilla27@calstatela.edu

Materials Science and Engineering, M.S.

Mohsen Eshraghi

(323) 343-5218

meshrag@calstatela.edu

Mathematics, M.S.

  • Applied Mathematics
  • General Mathematics

Tony Shaheen

(323) 343–2159

ashahee@calstatela.edu

Mexican-American Studies, M.A.

Ester Hernandez

(323) 343–5349

eherna17@calstatela.edu

Mechanical Engineering, M.S.

Shihao Hu

(323) 343-4486

shu17@calstatela.edu

 

Arturo Pacheco-Vega

(323) 343–4492

apacheco@calstatela.edu

 

He Shen

(323) 343-5213

he.shen@calstatela.edu

 

Shihao Hu

(323) 343- 4486

shu17@calstatela.edu

 

Nancy Warter-Perez

(323) 343-5927

nwarter@calstatela.edu

 

 

Music, M.A.

Emily Moss

(323) 343–4060

emoss2@calstatela.edu

Nursing, M.S.

  • Nursing Administration
  • Nursing Education
  • Nurse Practitioner
    • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care
    • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care
    • Family
    • Psychiatric/Mental Health

Jennifer Romero

(323) 343–4731

jromero77@cslanet.calstatela.edu

 

Heather Sands

hsands@calstatela.edu

Nutritional Science, M.S.

Anureer Kaur

(323) 343–4031

akaur23@calstatela.edu

Philosophy, M.A.

Talia Bettcher

(323) 343–4192

tbettch@calstatela.edu

 

Mark Balaguer

(323) 343–4189

mbalagu@calstatela.edu

 

Michael Shim

(323) 343–5942

mshim@exchange.calstatela.edu

 

Richard Dean

(323) 343–4182

rdean@calstatela.edu

Physics, M.S.

Martin Epstein

(323) 343–2129

epstein@calstatela.edu

 

Paul Nerenberg

(323) 343–2122

pnerenb@calstatela.edu

 

William Taylor

(323) 343–2108

wtaylor@calstatela.edu

 

Political Science, M.A.

Michael McLendon

(323) 343–2248

mmclend2@calstatela.edu

 

Psychology, M.A.

Karen Wu

(323) 343–2283

kwu25@calstatela.edu

Psychology, M.S.

  • Forensic Psychology

Mitchell Eisen

(323) 343–5006

meisen@calstatela.edu

Public Administration, MPA

Ellen Shuau

(323) 343–5826

ellen.shiau@calstatela.edu

Public Health - MPH

Melanie Sabado-Liwag

(323) 343–4740

msabado@calstatela.edu

 

Social Work, MSW

 

 

Social Work, MSW Advance Standing Program (ASP)

Anh-Luu Huynh-Hohnbaum (Advisement for MSW 2yr, 3yr program only)

(323) 343–5883

ahuynhh@exchange.calstatela.edu

 

Siyon Rhee

(Advisement for MSW ASP year 1)

(323) 343–4687

srhee@calstatela.edu

Sociology, M.A.

Kristen Hourigan

(323) 343–2200

khourig@calstatela.edu

Spanish, M.A.

Pablo Baler

(323) 343–4243

pbaler@calstatela.edu

Special Education, M.A.

 

 

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders

Jennifer Symon

(323) 343–4429

jsymon@calstatela.edu

  • Early Childhood Special Education

Jilly Chang

(323) 343–6154

ychang27@calstatela.edu

 

Robin Dodds

(323) 343–4408

rdodds@calstatela.edu

  • Mild/Moderate Disabilities

Margaret Clark

(323) 343–4409

mclark@calstatela.edu

 

Jiwon Hwang

jhwang31@calstatela.edu

 

Leila Ricci

(323) 343–4412

lricci@exchange.calstatela.edu

 

Anna Osipova

(323) 343–6152

aosipov@calstatela.edu

 

  • Moderate/Severe Disabilities

Christina Kimm

(323) 343–4416

ckimm@calstatela.edu

  • Multicultural/Multilingual Special Education

Andrea Zetlin

(323) 343–4420

azetlin@calstatela.edu

  • Physical and Health Impairments

Christina Kimm

(323) 343–4416

ckimm@calstatela.edu

 

  • Visual Impairments and Blindness
    • Orientation and Mobility

Brenda Naimy

(323) 343–4411

bnaimy@calstatela.edu

 

Nicholas Casias

(323) 343–4411

ncasias2@calstatela.edu

  • Visual Impairments and Blindness
    • Teacher Preparation

Cheryl Kamei-Hannan

(323) 343–6297

ckameih@calstatela.edu

Los Angeles Urban Teacher Residency (LAUTR) Special Education 

Leila Ricci

(323) 343–4412

lricci@exchange.calstatela.edu

 

 
Urban Learning Program (ULRN) Special Education

 

Jiwon Hwang

jhwang31@calstatela.edu

 

 
Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), M.A.

Bahiyyih Hardacre de Cerqueira

(323) 343-6181

bcerque@calstatela.edu

 

Lia Kamhi-Stein

(323) 343–5506

lkamhis@calstatela.edu

 

M. Ann Snow

(323) 343–4373

asnow@calstatela.edu

Theatre and Dance for MFA

Meredith Greenburg

(323) 343–4110

mgreenb@calstatela.edu

Television, Film and Media Studies MA

Michael Clarke

(323) 343–4256

mclarke2@calstatela.edu

Doctoral

Doctoral Program Faculty or Staff Advisor Links
Audilogy, AuD

Peter Ivory

(626) 382–0264

pivory@calstatela.edu 

Educational Leadership, EdD

Albert Jones

(323) 343–4444

ajones@calstatela.edu 

 

Anne Hafner

(323) 343–4361

ahafner@calstatela.edu

Nursing Practice, DNP
(Consortium with Cal State Long Beach, CSU Fullerton, and Cal State LA)

Katie Duong

(626) 278–8615

kduong@fullerton.edu

Special Education, PhD
(Cal State LA–UCLA Joint Program)

Lois Weinberg

(323) 343–4399

lweinbe@calstatela.edu

Postbaccalaureate Certificate

Certificate Program Faculty of Staff Advisor Links

Advanced Information Systems Certificate

Joseph Otto

(323) 343–2907

jotto@calstatela.edu

Bilingualism and Global Education Certificate

 

Kimberly Persiani

(323) 343–4350

kpersia@calstatela.edu

 

 

Biotechnology Certificate

Howard Xu

(323) 343–2188

hxu3@calstatela.edu

Clinical Genetic Molecular Biology Science Certificate

Gloria Preza

Gloria.Preza@calstatela.edu

Clinical Laboratory Science Certificate

Gloria Preza

Gloria.Preza@calstatela.edu

Counseling Certificates

  • Applied Behavior Analysis

  • Higher Education and Career Counseling

  • Clinical Counseling

Martin Brodwin (Higher Ed, Clinical)

(323) 343-4440

mbrodwi@calstatela.edu

 

David Peterson (Higher Ed, Clinical)

(323) 343-6161

dpeters3@calstatela.edu

 

Randy Campbell (Applied Behavior Analysis)

(323) 343-6147

rcampbe@calstatela.edu

 

Mitch Fryling, PhD (Applied Behavior Analysis)

(323) 343–4400

mfrylin2@calstatela.edu

Educational Technology Certificates

  • Computer Applications in Schools (CAS)

  • Online Teaching and Learning (COTL)

Pearl Chen

(323) 343-6147

hchen6@calstatela.edu

 

Adelaide Doyle-Nicols

(323) 343-4336

adoylen@calstatela.edu

 

Manisha Javeri

(323) 343-6142

mjaveri@calstatela.edu

Geographic Information Systems Certificate

Stephen Mulherin

(323) 343–2041

smulher@calstatela.edu

Healthcare Leadership Certificate

Andre Avramchuk

(323) 343–2905

aavramc@calstatela.edu

Pre-Health Professionals Certificate

  • Option I
  • Option II

Hyunsook Park

(323) 343–5284

hpark8@calstatela.edu

Reading Certificates

  • California Reading
  • Postsecondary Reading

Frederick Uy

(323) 343–4350

fuy@calstatela.edu

 

Jennifer McCormick (Postsecondary Reading)

(323) 343–6250

jmccorm3@exchange.calstatela.edu

Real Estate Certificate

Daniel Lee

(323) 343–6191

dlee2@calstatela.edu

Special Education Certificates

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders (Certificate)

  • Educational Therapy

  • Teaching Learners with Special Needs in General Education Classrooms

  • Transition Specialist

Jennifer Symon (Autism)

(323) 343-4429

jsymon@calstatela.edu

 

Holly Menzies (Ed. Therapy)

(323) 343-4400

hmenzie@calstatela.edu

 

Leila Ricci

(323) 343-4412

lricci@calstatela.edu

 

Christina Kimm (Transition Specialist)

(323) 343-4461

ckimm@calstatela.edu

Speech-Language Pathology Services Credential in Language, Speech, and Hearing

Cari Flint

(323) 343–4758

cflint@calstatela.edu

Storytelling for Teachers and Classrooms Certificate

Ambika G. Raj

(323) 343–6267

agopala@calstatela.edu

Teaching English as a Second Language Certificates

  • English as a Second or Foreign Language (ESL/EFL)

  • Teachers of English Learners

Lia Kamhi-Stein

(323) 343–5506

lkamhis@calstatela.edu

 

Bahiyyi Hardacre de Cerqueita

(323) 343-6181

bcerque@calstatela.edu

 

M. Ann Snow

(323) 343-4330

asnow@calstatela.edu

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Certificate

Alejandra Marchevesky

(323) 343–5810

amarche@exchange.calstatela.edu

Credential

Credential Program Staff Advisor Links

Education Specialist Credentials (Special Education)

  • Education Specialist Intern 
  • Early Childhood Special Education
  • Mild to Moderate Disabilities
  • Moderate to Severe Disabilities
  • Physical and Health Impairments
  • Visual Impairments

 

Jilly Chang (Early Childhood Special Ed)

(323) 343–6154

ya-chih.chang27@calstatela.edu

 

Anna Osipova (Mild/Moderate Disablitities)

(323) 343–4281

aosipov3@calstatela.edu

 

Christina Kimm (Moderate/Severe Disabilities)

(323) 343–4281

ckimm@calstatela.edu

 

Christina Kimm (Physical and Health Impairments)

(323) 343–4281

ckimm@calstatela.edu

 

Cheryl Kamei-Hannan (Visual Impairments)

(323) 343–6297

ckameih@calstatela.edu

 

Professional Credentials (Education)

  • Preliminary Administrative Services
  • Clear Induction Administrative Services
  • Orientation and Mobility
  • School-Based Family Counseling (MFT with PPS Credential in School Counseling)
  • School Psychology (with PPS Credential in School Psychology)

 

 

 

Albert Jones (Adminstrative Services)

(323) 343–4444

ajones4@calstatela.edu

 

Charles Flores (Clear Administrative Services)

(323) 343–4337

cflor203@calstatela.edu

 

Nicholas Casias (Orientation and Mobility)

(323) 343–4411

ncasias2@calstatela.edu

 

Michael Carter  (School-Based)

(323) 343–4438

mcarter@calstatela.edu

 

Elina Saeki  (School Psychology)

(323) 343–4448

esaeki@calstatela.edu

Teaching Credentials

  • Los Angeles Urban Teacher Residency (LAUTR)
  • Multiple Subject
  • Reading and Literacy Leadership Specialist 
  • Single Subject

Leila Ricci (LAUTR)

(323) 343-4412

lricci@calstatela.edu

 

Nicole Cravello (Mutiple/Single Subject)

(323) 343–4342

ncravel2@calstatela.edu

 

Jennifer McCormick  (Reading and Literacy)

(323) 343–6250

jmccorm3@exchange.calstatela.edu