As part of our commitment to providing safe and accessible parking, parking citations can be issued to any vehicle found in violation of Cal State LA's Parking Regulations. All citations are issued in accordance with the California Vehicle Code. Regulations are enforced 24/7, holidays included. It should be understood that a warning may be issued for a parking violation, however, a citation can be received on the first violation.
Payments can be made:
By mailing your payment to;
Online at CalStateLA.aimsparking.com. A service fee for credit card transactions will apply.
- In-person with cash or check at the One-Stop Financial Services, Student Services Building #2380.
- In the citation payment drop-box in front of Public Safety (check or money order only please)
- For more information on payment arrangements, visit our Citation Payment Agreement Page.
Payment for citations should be made within 21 calendar days of receiving the citation. If payments are received after the due date, a delinquent fee will be assessed to your fine and will be included on your Delinquent Courtesy Notice. Failure to pay a citation may result in a DMV hold and a university hold being placed on your record. Per Adm Procedure 402,7.3.4. the University may remove an abandoned vehicle, any vehicle parked in such a way as to constitute a traffic hazard, and vehicles illegally parked. Vehicles with five (5) or more unpaid parking citations are subject to impound (towing) under California Vehicle Code sections 22651.3(b) and 22651.7. The owner will be responsible for the costs involved in removing and storing of such vehicles.
Fines vary based on the violation and amounts of fines are in-line with neighboring cities and other CSU Campuses.
Type of Violation
Violation of Rules and Regulations
(No valid permit displayed, exceeding the time limit, parking in a reserved space, displaying an expired permit, etc.)
(Fire lane, bike lane, walkway, blocking other vehicles, etc.)
Displaying Forged/Altered or Lost/Stolen Permit
|Disabled Zone Violations||$368.00|
Bail and delinquent fee amounts effective July 1, 2018
Contesting a Citation
Level One: Initial Review
A request for an Initial Review of a parking citation must be submitted within 21 calendar days of receiving the citation or within 14 calendar days of receiving the Delinquent Courtesy Notice. Responses will be mailed to the name and address supplied on the form.
Request for an Initial Review can be made by submitting a Parking Citation Contest Form.
Contest forms can be submitted online at CalStateLA.aimsparking.com
By fax at: (323) 343-3724
By mail to Cal State LA Parking Services c/o Parking Citation Service Center, 5151 State University Dr., Public Safety Bldg, Los Angeles, CA 90032
Level One Reviews require 10 business days to complete adjudication.
Level Two: Administrative Hearing
If you are unsatisfied with the Initial Review results, requests for an Administrative Hearing can be made by steps listed in your Initial Review response. Please note that the Request must be made for an Initial Review before requesting an Administrative Hearing. The request for the Administrative Hearing must be made within 21 days of the results from the Initial Review. No fees are required to request an Initial Review, but all fees due from the Citation must be paid before an Administrative Hearing date is provided (Reference CVC 40215.b. for complete details).
A Hearing Examiner will review the information provided and your testimony. A decision is then rendered. The decision of the Hearing Examiner may be delivered by first-class mail.
If your citation is "dismissed," the penalty paid for the citation will be refunded in full. Refunds would be requested at Public Safety. Public Safety is open Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm, and can be contacted by phone at (323) 343-6118.
Level Three: Judicial Review
If you are not satisfied with the results of the Level 2 Appeal Hearing, you can further appeal your case (in person) to the local court of law within 30 calendar days from the mailing of the Level 2 Appeal Hearing liable notice.
Academic Holds for Unpaid Parking Citations
When a parking citation becomes past due, a DMV registration hold and when eligible an academic hold with the university may be applied as per CCR Title V, Section 42381. An academic hold may include (list transcripts, grades, diploma)
Parking services will use a reasonable determination that the student owned or operated the vehicle at the time of citation to determine whether an Academic Hold will be applied to a student’s record.
Academic holds can only be released after payment is received in full or the debtor enrolls into a Citation Payment Agreement. To ensure the hold is released, please contact Parking Services during regular business hours, Mon-Friday 8:00- 5:00 p.m. Please contact (323) 343-3594 or (323) 343-6118 and authorized staff will release the academic hold once payment or citation status is verified.
Further information on Parking Citations is available by contacting the Parking Services at (323) 343-6118 or via email.
Citation Payment Agreements
Pursuant to California State University (CSU) policy 4071, Cal State LA is offering a payment agreement for multiple unpaid citations or citations totaling $200 or more. At plan enrollment, a minimum initial payment of 10% of the amount owed, plus a $25 enrollment fee, is required. Subsequent payments will be made on a monthly basis as set by Cal State LA Parking Services to the following durations, but citations may be paid in full at any time during the agreement. For more detailed information visit our Citation Payment Agreement page. If you meet the criteria above and would like to set up payment arrangements, please complete the Citation Payment Agreement Request Form. If you have any questions, please email or call (323) 343-6118.
Contact Parking and Transportation for more information
All of the above information is subject to change without notice