WellBeingU Champions

The WellBeingU Champion award seeks to recognize students, faculty, and staff for their contributions toward creating a culture of well-being at Cal State LA. A WellBeingU Champion should exemplify successful integration of well-being into the framework of University life as a means of supporting student success. 

Dedication to Well-Being

First Lady Covino and President Covino with Champion Ashley Lepe

Past Champions

Each year, the Cal State LA community honors students, faculty, and staff whose approach to well-being fosters in others their own practice, whose expertise has educated others on the importance of mental and physical well-being, and whose dedication to well-being has contributed to the success of Cal State LA students and the wider University community.

WellBeingU Champions have included students, faculty, and staff who have integrated well-being into their classroom environments, student leadership, counseling and advising, and many other ways. 

2021-2022 Champions

  • Joanna Gaspar, staff
  • Nidhin Patel, faculty
  • Ashley Lepe, student

Read about the 2021-2022 Champions.

2019-2020 Champions

  • Chriztopher Johnson, staff
  • Roberto Alcaraz Jr., faculty
  • Jhoanna Avelino, student

Read about the 2019-2020 Champions.

2018 Champions

  • Amy Miller, staff
  • Marissa Pitts, faculty
  • Melissa Venegas, student

Read about the 2018 Champions

2017 Champions

  • Anna Lovoy, staff
  • Kristen Hourigan, faculty
  • Dylan Gunaratne, student 

Read about the 2017 Champions