Department of History Receives 2022 Institutional Equity Award

American Historical Association 2022 Institutional Equity Award Winner Cal State LA Department of History Graphic

The American Historical Association has awarded the 2022 Institutional Equity Award to the Department of History at Cal State LA. The Institutional Equity Award is given to institutions that have achieved excellence in recruiting and retaining underrepresented racial and ethnic groups into the historical discipline. The Department of History is recognized for its "hard work of recruiting more Latinx students into history programs and the discipline. This dedication is evident through the high percentage of Latinx students enrolled in its MA program, and especially through the success of its graduates of color." 

The American Historical Association offers annual prizes honoring exceptional books, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, public history, and other historical projects. Since 1896, the Association has conferred over 1,000 awards. This year's finalists were selected from a field of over 1,300 entries by nearly 150 dedicated prize committee members. The names, publications, and projects of those who received these awards are a catalog of the best work produced in the historical discipline.

"This is a national-level recognition of all the hard work of our students, staff, and faculty," said Dr. Choi Chatterjee, chair of the Department of History. " "I thank Dr. Nancy Quam-Wickham (Professor of History, CSULB) who initiated, wrote, and submitted the nomination for the AHA Equity Award." "And I especially want to thank Dr. Mark Wild, our former chair, for providing the necessary documentation that led to our receiving the award."