CSULA Department of English | Kubal Memorial Essay Contest

Each year submissions are invited for the David L. Kubal Essay Contest, an annual competition sponsored by the English Department to celebrate the exemplary scholarly writing of undergraduate English majors and graduate students in English. Essays submitted for this contest should be on literary or cultural topics, and can be original projects or papers previously submitted as part of a course. Please note that award winners must be English majors or minors or graduate students in English and must be currently registered.

$250 Prize for best graduate essay

$250 Prize for best undergraduate essay

Papers should be submitted electronically to Professor Jim Garrett ([email protected]).

The deadline for submissions is January 30, 2015

Winners are strongly encouraged to attend the David L. Kubal Memorial Lecture, at which they will be honored.

David L. Kubal Memorial Lecture

James Paul Gee, Guest Speaker

Thursday, February 26, 2015, 5:30pm, Golden Eagle Ballroom

The David L. Kubal Memorial Lecture and Essay Contest were established in 1983 to honor and memorialize David Kubal, who, in his teaching, scholarship, friendships with students and colleagues, and in the daily responsibilities of professional life, embodied the highest academic ideal.

Kubal Essay Prize Winners

2014 Abraham Encinas and Monica Carrillo

2013 Efren Lopez and Tatiana Sanchez

2012 Jazmin Delgado

2008 Kevin McCabe

2006 Jessica Magallanes

2005 Christine Maksimowicz

2004 David Anthopoulos and Jerry Sider

2003 Niklas Watanabe

2002 Deanna Stansbury

2001 Lorraine Sfeir

2000 Jennifer Zeuli

1999 Starr Goode

1998 Jennifer O'Brien, Jennifer Zeuli, and Kathleen Klompien

1997 Jamie Sue Reed

1996 Don Enomoto

1995 Deborah Davis

1994 Jane Phillips

1993 James Towner

1992 David Beaulieu

1991 Piero Carlini

1990 Dahlia Schwartz and Nancy Hutcheon

1989 Mara Fein

1988 Emily Schiller and Jamshid Minwalla

1987 Carol King

1986 Amado Toribio and Sharlene Zagami

1985 Kristen Salontay

1984 Michael Duffey and Peter Bodiford