Developmental Stages

Developmental Milestones

Children are unique and have their own characteristics and personality. Being able to meet developmental milestones is an important part of each child’s life. However, children with disabilities often can’t master these skills easily due to their biological challenges. It is important for parents to observe their child’s development closely. They should monitor the general developmental milestones at 7 months , 12 months , 24 months , and 60 months . First, pay attention to the child’s physical movements of head control, trunk control, arms, legs, crawling, and so on. Second, monitor whether the child is making eye contact and interacting with their environments since both are important part of social development. Third, cooing, babbling, first word, and developing language skills are also very important. Although there are individual differences in development, if the child demonstrates delay, it is important to let doctors know and to get the appropriate assessment.

Types of developmental skills:

  • Gross Motor Skills: Development of muscles that enable children to hold their head up, sit, crawl, walk, run, jump, and skip
  • Fine Motor Skills: Refers to the small movements of hands, wrists, fingers, feet, toes, lips, and tongue.
  • Communication Skills
  • Cognitive Skills
  • Social Skills