spring concert

May 11, 2000





Margie Yu
Public Affairs Asst.
(323) 343-3047


of Events

Cal State L.A.'s Symphonic Band
and Wind Ensemble
Present a Spring Concert

Los Angeles, CA -- California State University, Los Angeles presents a Spring Concert performed by the Cal State L.A. Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble on Wednesday, May 31, at the State Playhouse on campus.

The program will include: Robert Russell Bennett's Four Preludes; Malcolm Arnold's English Dances; Adam Gorb's Away Day; and Jack Stamp's Pastime, A Salute to Baseball. In celebration of Aaron Copland's centennial year, three Copland works will also be performed: Down a Country Lane, Emblems, and Fanfare for the Common Man.

There will be several guests featured in the concert: four student conductors, Val Jamora, David Nelson, Antonio Castro and Frank Rico; guest conductor and soloist, Dr. John Swain; and special guest artist, Mickey Fruchter, performing the virtuosic Concerto Gross, in celebration of his retirement from Cal State L.A.

About the composition: Karl W. Schlabach was a prolific composer in the middle part of the 1900s. This was his only work that we know of. This composition offers the great challenge to the soloist to make do with a semi-octave of notes (but not necessarily in any specific order). For the non-musically trained person this is something like, but not necessarily like, a tetra-chord. The four notes which were used in the solo parts are likely to be found in the key of C Major, although the accompaniment parts are in the key of F Major. The Concerto was written in one movement, but there are many tempo changes that keep the soloist and the band members on their toes and prevent them from falling into a deep slumber.

About the Artist:
Mickey Fruchter has been trying to master the violin for over half a century. He hopes now that he is retired he can spend his next half-century mastering what he failed to do in his first half-century.


# # #