Visit Health Watch for COVID-19 updates. Find Employee Return to Campus and Student Return to Campus information.
Emergency Notification

30th Annual Alumni Awards Gala

September 3, 2003
Black and gold graphic bar
 September 3, 2003

Margie Yu
Public Affairs Specialist 
(323) 343-3047



Cal State L.A. 
Office of Public Affairs 
(323) 343-3050 
Fax: (323) 343-6405

For immediate release:
Cal State L.A. to Hold 30th Annual Alumni Awards Gala
Honoring 41st U.S. Treasurer Rosario Marin

Los Angeles, CA -- On Thursday, November 6, 2003, California State University, Los Angeles will celebrate the outstanding contributions of its alumni and students to their professions, communities and the University, at the 30th Annual Cal State L.A. Alumni Awards Gala. (Dinner reception starts at 6:30 p.m., followed by an awards ceremony at the Luckman Fine Arts Complex on the CSULA campus.)

Alumna of the Year: The Honorable Rosario Marin ’83, the 41st Treasurer of the United States, firmly believes that “of him to whom much is given, much is expected.” She was the highest-ranking Latina in the Bush Administration and the first U.S. Treasurer born outside of the country. Marin attended college while working full time, and received her degree from California State University, Los Angeles. Marin has previously served as mayor and councilwoman of Huntington Park, California, a city of 85,000 residents with a population that is 99 percent Hispanic. She was first elected to the City Council in 1994 and was overwhelmingly re-elected in 1999. In 2000, while serving the people of Huntington Park, Marin worked for AT&T as a public relations manager. Her commitment to public service led Marin to continue her education. She graduated from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government Programs for Senior Executives in State and Local Government. On June 15, 2002, she was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from her alma mater Cal State L.A. She has also received an honorary Doctor of Humanities Degree from Whittier College. Marin was sworn in as the 41st Treasurer of the United States by Treasury Secretary Paul O’Neill on August 16, 2001.

University Service Award: Gary Townsend ’69, chief deputy assessor for Los Angeles County, has been actively involved in politics most of his life. He was an elected delegate to the 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago, Illinois. During his career, he has served as district director for Congressman Matthew Martinez, chief deputy to Los Angeles City Councilman Mike Woo, chief deputy for Los Angeles County Assessor Kenneth P. Hahn, and is currently chief deputy for Los Angeles County Assessor Rick Auerbach. Townsend is active in numerous charitable endeavors and serves on the Board of Directors for the Urban Youth Golf Program, UCLA Brain Injury Research Center, and the Cal State L.A. Alumni Association. He also serves as chairman of the Alumni Association’s Legislative Committee. At Cal State L.A., Townsend was student body president, a member of the debate team and a member of Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. He earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from Cal State L.A. in 1969.

Master of Ceremonies: Actor Cliff DeYoung ’68, known for his extensive and prestigious accomplishments as an actor in film and television, was honored in 2001 as a Cal State L.A. Distinguished Alumnus. DeYoung’s film and television career spans more than 30 years and includes starring roles and guest appearances in countless television movies, miniseries, and a wide variety of feature films. He was most recently seen opposite Mia Farrow in the Lifetime Network production of The Secret Life of Zoey, and a starring role in Masterpiece Theatre’s American Collection, Almost a Woman. DeYoung returned to Cal State L.A. in 2002 to help celebrate the reopening of the Arena Theatre, performing Cliff DeYoung in the Works of SAMUEL BECKETT. DeYoung’s most recent stage appearance was in The Three Sisters at the Los Angeles Theatre Center.

The 30th Annual Cal State L.A. Alumni Awards Gala will present the University’s Distinguished Alumni Awards to alumni from the University’s six Colleges: Emiko Banfield ’73, vice president of shared services, Southern California Edison; Stuart K. Spencer ’51, president, Spencer, Roberts & Associates; Dwight Streit ’80, vice president, Microelectronics Technology, Northrop Grumman; Beverly Nix Meier ’74, executive vice president of business affairs, Paradigm Talent & Literary Agency; The Honorable Morris B. Jones ’71, Superior Court Judge, Los Angeles Superior Court; and Robert W. Brown ’74, president, University of West Los Angeles. Additionally, Cal State L.A.’s Professor of Chemistry Linda Tunstad ’83 will be honored as this year’s Distinguished Faculty Alumna.

Two exemplary Cal State L.A. students will also be honored: Autumn S. Ivy (B.S., Biology), Outstanding Senior Student, and Shankari Patel (M.S., Anthropology), Outstanding Graduate Student.

For ticket information, contact the Cal State L.A. Alumni Association at (323) 343-4980.

# # #