Philosophy (323) 343-4180

Mark Balaguer
Associate Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., City University of New York Graduate Center
Contact: (323) 343-4189

  • Philosophy of language
  • Philosophy of mathematics
  • Metaphysics
  • Free will and logic

Sharon Bishop
Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., Harvard University, Ph.D., Wright Institute-Los Angeles
Contact: (323) 343-4180
E-mail: sbishop@calstatela.edu

  • Ethics
  • Social and political philosophy
  • Philosophical psychology
  • Feminism

Jennifer Faust
Associate Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Contact: (323) 343-4286
E-mail: jfaust@calstatela.edu

  • Theory of knowledge
  • Philosophy of science
  • Inductive logic
  • Epistemology of religion

Ann Garry
Emerita Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., University of Maryland
Contact: (323) 343-4176
E-mail: agarry@calstatela.edu

  • Contemporary moral issues
  • Feminist philosophy
  • 20th Century philosophy

Ricardo J. Gomez
Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., Indiana University
Contact: (323) 343-4189
E-mail: rgomez@calstatela.edu

  • Philosophy of science and technology
  • Kant
  • Latin American philosophy

Manyul Im
Associate Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., University of Michigan
Contact: (323) 343-4180
E-mail: mim@calstatela.edu

  • East Asian philosophy and religion
  • Confucianism
  • Ethical theory

David Pitt
Assistant Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., City University of New York Graduate Center
Contact: (323) 343-4182
E-mail: dpitt@calstatela.edu

  • Philosophy of mind
  • Philosophy of language
  • Metaphysics
  • Philosophy of linguistics
  • Formal semantics
  • Philosophy of music

Joseph Prabhu
Professor of Philosophy; Ph.D., Boston University
Contact: (323) 343-4177
E-mail: jprabhu@calstatela.edu

  • Comparative philosophy and religions
  • Moral and social philosophy
  • Globalization
  • Philosophy of culture
  • Human rights
  • Global peace and justice
  • Philosophy of the social sciences