Economics and Statistics (323) 343-2930

Miles M. Finney
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., University of Houston
Contact: (323) 343-2937
E-mail: mfinney@calstatela.edu

  • Urban economics and regional study of business location
  • Public finance
  • Environmental economics

Edward Hsieh
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., University of Houston
Contact: (323) 343-2939
E-mail: ehsieh@calstatela.edu

  • Public finance and public choice
  • Internet growth and economic theory
  • Welfare implications of Pigouvian taxation
  • Revenue and market structure
  • Government and defense spending

Kon S. Lai
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Contact: (323) 343-2945
E-mail: klai@calstatela.edu

  • Applied econometrics
  • International finance

Fluent in: Chinese.


Tom Larson
Emeritus Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Contact: (323) 343-2938
E-mail: tlarson@calstatela.edu

  • Minority income
  • Employment
  • California minimum wage
  • Use of contingent workers
  • Black youth unemployment
  • Labor economics
  • Industrial organization
  • Local-government affirmative action programs for minority and women-owned businesses in California

Madhu S. Mohanty
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Contact: (323) 343-2935
E-mail: mmohant@calstatela.edu

  • Econometrics
  • Mathematical economics
  • Statistics
  • Quantitative methods
  • Microeconomics
  • Labor economics and applied economics

Sunil K. Sapra
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., Columbia University
Contact: (323) 343-2941
E-mail: ssapra@calstatela.edu

  • Econometrics
  • Statistics
  • Microeconomics

Dang T. Tran
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., Syracuse University
Contact: (323) 343-2949
E-mail: dtran@calstatela.edu

  • Macro and microeconomics
  • Money and banking
  • Business statistics
  • Economic forecasting
  • Development and planning
  • International trade
  • Public finance
  • Population Growth and Economic Development

Mann J. Yoon
Professor of Economics and Statistics; Ph.D., University of Illinois
Contact: (323) 343-2936
E-mail: myoon@calstatela.edu

  • Statistics
  • Econometrics
  • Econometric theory
  • Econometric diagnostics
  • Spatial econometrics
  • Time series analysis