Cal State LA Department of Philosophy Faculty and Staff

Talia Bettcher

Talia Bettcher Chair (Ph.D., UCLA)

feminist philosophy, transgender studies, queer theory, early modern philosophy   

E&T A423
(323) 343-4179
tbettch@calstatela.edu

Staff

Donna
Balderrama

E&T A432
(323) 343-4180
email

Kayley Vernallis

Kayley Vernallis, Associate Chair (Ph.D., UC Berkeley)
moral psychology, ethics, aesthetics, gender and sexuality, feminism, 19th/20th century Continental philosophy
 
E&T A423
(323) 343-4947
kvernal@calstatela.edu

 

 Full-Time Faculty

Mohammed Abed Mohammed Abed (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison)
ethics, social & political philosophy, classical Islamic philosophy
 
E&T A425
(323) 343-5695
mabed@calstatela.edu
Mark Balaguer Mark Balaguer (Ph.D., City University of New York)
metaphysics, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of language, metaethics, logic
 
E&T A424
(323) 343-4189
mbalagu@calstatela.edu
Richard Dean Richard Dean (Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
moral theory, history of moral philosophy
 
E&T A412
(323) 343-4182
rdean@calstatela.edu
Foad Dizadji-Bahmani Foad Dizadji-Bahmani (Ph.D., London School of Economics)
philosophy of science, philosophy of physics, philosophy of probability
 
ET A412
323-343-4176
fdizadj@calstatela.edu
Henry Mendell Henry R. Mendell (Ph.D., Stanford University)
ancient philosophy, history of ancient mathematics and science, philosophy of science, metaphysics
 
E&T A422
(323) 343-4178
hmendell@calstatela.edu

David Pitt

David Pitt  Director of Graduate Studies (Ph.D., City University of New York)
philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, metaphysics
 
E&T A432
(323) 343-4192
dpitt@calstatela.edu

Joseph Prabhu

Joseph B. Prabhu (Ph.D., Boston University)
ethics, 19th and 20th century Continental philosophy, Indian and comparative philosophy, social and political philosophy, philosophy of religion
 
E&T A421
(323) 343-4177
jprabhu@calstatela.edu

Michael Shim Michael K. Shim (Ph.D., SUNY Stony Brook)
20th century Continental philosophy (esp. phenomenology, Husserl), early modern philosophy (esp. Leibniz, rationalism, Kant), philosophy of mind, philosophy of language
 
E&T A422
(323) 343-5942
mshim@calstatela.edu
Emeriti: Thomas Annese, Sharon Bishop, Donald Burrill, Ann Garry, Ricardo Gomez, George Vick.

 Lecturers

Bruce Atta Bruce Atta
epistemology, metaphysics, applied ethics
E&T A221
(323) 343-6070
batta@calstatela.edu
Jay Conway Jay Conway (Ph.D., UC Riverside)
history of philosophy (esp. Modern and 19th/20th century European), the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze, social & political philosophy, feminist philosophy
 
E&T A432
(323) 343-4180
jay.t.conway@gmail.com
Dirk Farner Dirk Farner (Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara)
ancient philosophy, history of philosophy
 
E&T A423
(323) 343-4180
dfarner@calstatela.edu
Ronald Houts Ronald Houts (Ph.D., UCLA)
critical thinking, logic, perception
 
E&T A414
(323) 343-4190
not email accessible
Keith Kaiser Keith Kaiser (Ph.D., UCLA)
metaphysics, philosophy of mind
 
E&T A424
(323) 343-4180
kkaiser@csulb.edu
Steven Levy Steven R. Levy (Ph.D., UCLA)
epistemology, metaphysics, logic, applied ethics
 
E&T A424
(323) 343-4180
steven.levy@mindspring.com
Sheila Price Sheila Price (M.A. Philosophy, M.A. Folklore & Mythology, UCLA)
recent philosophy, philosophy of religion, comparative religions, East Asian philosophy, environmental ethics
 
E&T A414
(323) 343-4187
sprice@calstatela.edu