Cal State LA Department of Philosophy Faculty and Staff

David Pitt David Pitt, Chair (Ph.D., City University of New York)
philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, metaphysics
 
E&T A432
(323) 343-4192
dpitt@calstatela.edu
Department Coordinator:
Donna Balderrama

 
E&T A432
(323) 343-4180
dbalder@calstatela.edu
Talia Bettcher Talia Bettcher, Associate Chair (Ph.D., UCLA)
feminist philosophy, transgender studies, queer theory, early modern philosophy
 
E&T A423
(323) 343-4179
tbettch@calstatela.edu

 Full-Time Faculty

  Mohammed Abed (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison)
moral philosophy, social & political philosophy
 
(323) 343-5695
mabed@calstatela.edu
Mark Balaguer Mark Balaguer (Ph.D., City University of New York)
metaphysics, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of language, metaethics, logic
 
E&T A424
(323) 343-4189
mbalagu@calstatela.edu
Richard Dean Richard Dean (Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
moral theory, history of moral philosophy
 
E&T A412
(323) 343-4182
rdean@calstatela.edu
Foad Dizadji-Bahmani Foad Dizadji-Bahmani (Ph.D., London School of Economics)
philosophy of science, philosophy of physics, philosophy of probability
 
E&T A412
323-343-4176
fdizadj@calstatela.edu
Michael Shim
Michael K. Shim, Director of Graduate Studies (Ph.D., SUNY Stony Brook)
20th century Continental philosophy (esp. phenomenology, Husserl), early modern philosophy (esp. Leibniz, rationalism, Kant), philosophy of mind, philosophy of language
 
E&T A422
(323) 343-5942
mshim@calstatela.edu
Emeriti: Thomas Annese, Sharon Bishop, Donald Burrill, Ann Garry, Ricardo Gomez, Henry R. Mendell, Joseph B. Prabhu, Kayley Vernallis, George Vick

 Lecturers

Bruce Atta Bruce Atta
epistemology, metaphysics, applied ethics
 
E&T A430
(323) 343-6070
batta@calstatela.edu
Jay Conway Jay Conway (Ph.D., UC Riverside)
history of philosophy (esp. Modern and 19th/20th century European), the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze, social & political philosophy, feminist philosophy
 
E&T A423
(323) 343-4947
jay.t.conway@gmail.com
Dirk Farner Dirk Farner (Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara)
ancient philosophy, history of philosophy
 
E&T A421
(323) 343-4185
dfarner@calstatela.edu
Ronald Houts Ronald Houts (Ph.D., UCLA)
critical thinking, logic, perception
 
E&T A414
(323) 343-4190
not email accessible
Keith Kaiser Keith Kaiser (Ph.D., UCLA)
metaphysics, philosophy of mind
 
E&T A430
(323) 343-4180
kkaiser@csulb.edu
Sheila Price Sheila Price (M.A. Philosophy, M.A. Folklore & Mythology, UCLA)
recent philosophy, philosophy of religion, comparative religions, East Asian philosophy, environmental ethics
 
E&T A414
(323) 343-4187
sprice@calstatela.edu