CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES May 11, 2021 ASM 21-1 APPROVED AUGUST 31, 2021

M. Abed, A. Avramchuk, C. Chatterjee, A. Dobry, E. Drost, L. Fu, T. Gershberg, C. Harris, M. Hayes, M. Hernandez, T. Jackson, M. Kubalanza, C. Larkins, G. Menezes, C. Ney, B. Son, E. Velazquez, R. Vogel

ABSENT

D. Czypinski

EXCUSED ABSENCE

Chair Bettcher convened the (Zoom) meeting at 1:47 p.m.

Chair Bettcher began with a Tongva land acknowledgement, advised the body that this is the Organizational Meeting for the Academic Senate 2021-22AY, and reviewed the protocols for participating in Senate elections for the Executive Committee and how the elections would be conducted.

1. The Chair welcomed the new and returning Senators and thanked them for the service to the University and shared governance.

WELCOME NEW SENATORS

2. It was m/s/p (Warter-Perez) to approve the agenda.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

3. Chair Bettcher passed the gavel to Vice Chair Flint to conduct the Chair elections.

**ELECTION OF OFFICERS** 

3.1 Chair Bettcher was elected to serve as chair by acclamation for the 2021-22AY. Vice chair passed the gavel back to Chair Bettcher to conduct the remaining elections.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

3.2 Senator Flint was elected to serve as vice chair by acclamation for the 2021-22AY.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

3.3 Senator Bezdecny was elected to serve as secretary by acclamation for the 2021-22AY.

ELECTION OF SECRETARY

3.4 Senators Baaske, Riggio, Warter-Perez, and Reyes were elected to serve as at-large members for the 2021-22AY.

ELECTION OF FOUR MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

4. It was m/s/p (Flint) to adjourn at 2:15 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT