CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES
June 3, 2014

ASM 14-1 Approved October 7, 2014

H. Riggio, D. Palmer, C. Avalos, U. Serrano, J. Goodrich

ABSENT

L. Andre-Bechely, B. Gutarts, R. Ackerman, M. Adamian, E. Hyun

EXCUSED ABSENCE

Chair Baaske convened the meeting at 1:33 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

1. The Chair's Announcements

Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2014-15 Academic Senate. I would like to take this opportunity to introduce the newly elected Senators, re-elected Senators, and the one-year alternates who will be serving on the 2014-15 Academic Senate:

College of Arts and Letters - Alejandra Marchevsky and Bidhan Roy

Charter College of Education – ADee Williams

College of Health and Human Services – Darlene Finocchiaro, Beth Hoffman, and Gail Washington

College of Natural and Social Sciences – Martin Adamian, Gretchen Peterson, Rene Vellanoweth

Library and Student Affairs - Holly Yu

Senators-at-Large - Kevin Baaske and Nancy Hunt

Statewide Senator – Cristina Bodinger-deUriarte

Undergraduate Student Senator – Dennia Palmer

Graduate Student Senators - Carmen Avalos and Uriel Serrano

Emeritus Faculty Senator – John Cleman

- 2. It was m/s/p (Prabhu) to approve the agenda.
- 3. 3.1 Nancy Warter-Perez (Electrical and Computer Engineering) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2014-15.
 - 3.2 John Ramirez (Television, Film & Media Studies) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2014-15.
 - 3.3 Michael Soldatenko (Chicano Studies) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2014-15.
 - 3.4 Gretchen Peterson (Sociology), D. Rob DeChaine (Communication Studies/Liberal Studies), Beth Hoffman (Public Health) and Alison McCurdy (Chemistry and Biochemistry) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2014-15.
- 4. It was m/s/p (Washington) to adjourn at 1:46 p.m.

ADJOURMENT