CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSTIY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES
June 5, 2012

ASM 12-1 Approved October 2, 2012

M. Abed, K. Moo-Young, E. Porter, V. Villa, M. Wild

**ABSENT** 

C. Srole

**EXCUSED ABSENCE** 

Chair Hunt convened the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

EXCUSED ADSENCE

1. The Chair's Announcements:

INTRODUCTION OF NEW SENATORS

Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2012-2013 Academic Senate. I would like to take this opportunity to introduce the newly elected Senators, re-elected Senators and the one-year alternates who will be serving on the 2012-13 Academic Senate:

College of Arts and Letters - Steven Classen, Rob DeChaine, Shiz Herrera and John Ramirez

Charter College of Education – Lois Andre-Bechely and David Peterson

College of Health and Human Services - Cari Flint

College of Natural and Social Sciences – Oscar Bernal, Scott Bowman, Alison McCurdy, Cheryl Koos, Michael Soldatenko and Carole Srole

Library and Student Affairs- Michael Germano

Senators-at-Large - Ted Bell, Rita Ledesma and Heidi Riggio

Statewide Senator - Kevin Baaske

Undergraduate Student Senators – Anthony Aceves, Luis Antezana and Hamoon Jalalipour and the Emeritus Faculty Senator – John Cleman

- 2. It was m/s/p (Benedict) to approve the agenda.
- 3. 3.1 Kevin Baaske (Communication Studies) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2012-2013.
  - 3.2 Gretchen Peterson (Sociology) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2012-2013.
  - 3.3 Theodore Bell (Psychology) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2012-2013.
  - 3.4 Steven Classen (Television, Film and Media Studies), Michael Soldatenko (Chicano Studies), Sharon Ulanoff (Curriculum and Instruction) and Laura Whitcomb (Management) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2012-2013.
- 4. It was m/s/p (Benedict) to adjourn at 2: 08 p.m.

APROVAL OF THE AGENDA

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

**ADJOURNMENT**