CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSTIY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES May 31, 2011		ASM 11-1 Approved October 4, 2011
M. Tufenkjian		ABSENT EXCUSED ABSENCE
1.	The Chair's Announcements:	INTRODUCTION OF NEW SENATORS
	Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2011-2012 Academic Senate. I would like to take this opportunity to introduce the newly elected Senators for 2011-2012, some of whom are re-elected: Arts and Letters: Mohammad Auwal and James Hatfield; Business and Economics: Jose Perez-Carballo; Charter College of Education: Sharon Ulanoff; Health and Human Services: Lorie Judson; Library and Student Affairs: Catherine Haras; Natural and Social Sciences: Beth Baker-Cristales, Kimberly King, Jamil Momand, Gretchen Peterson, Edith Porter and Mark Wild; Senators-at-Large: Melina Abdullah, Scott Bowman and Nancy McQueen; Statewide Senator: Robert Land; and Emeritus Senator: Donald Dewey.	
2.	It was m/s/p (Baaske) to approve the agenda.	APROVAL OF THE AGENDA
3.	3.1 Nancy Hunt (Special Education and Counseling ) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2011-2011.	ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
	3.2 Steven Classen (Communication Studies) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2011-2012.	EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
	3.3 Cari Flint (Communication Disorders) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2011-2012.	
	3.4 Theodore Bell (Psychology), Catherine Haras (Library), Rita Ledesma (Child and Family Studies) and Sharon Ulanoff (Curriculum and Instruction) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2011-2012.	
4.	It was m/s/p (Hunt) to adjourn at 2: 00 p.m.	ADJOURNMENT