CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSTIY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES June 2, 2009		ASM 09-1 Approved July 14, 2009
	niol, T. Bell, R. M. Hawley, J. Momand, H. K. Moo-Young, A. Russo-Neustadt, M. Siler, anoff, N. Warter-Perez	ABSENT
T. Al	lison, J. Cleman, DeChaine, D. Peterson P. Romero, L. Yeakey	EXCUSED ABSENCE
Vice Chair R. Land convened the meeting at 1:35 p.m.		
1.	The Chair's Announcements:	ANNOUNCEMENTS
	1.1 Welcome to the organizational meeting for the 2009-2010 Academic Senate. For those of you who are new to the Senate, I am Robert Land, Vice Chair of the 2008-2009 Senate, standing in for the current Chair, Kevin Baaske, who is representing the Statewide Senate at the AACU GE Institute in Minnesota.	
	1.2 I would like to take this opportunity to introduce the newly elected Senators, those who are re-elected, and those who will be serving next year as one-year alternates: for the College of Arts and Letters: Mohammed Abed, Steven Classen, Domnita Dumitrescu and Jimmy Moss; for the Charter College of Education: Carolyn Frank, Anne Hafner and David Peterson; for the College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Technology: Nancy Warter-Perez; for the College of Health and Human Services Cari Flint; for the College of Natural and Social Sciences: Konrad Aniol, Theodore Bell, Ester Hernandez, Kimberly King, Amelia Russo-Neustadt, Michael Soldatenko, Lamont Yeakey; Senators-at-Large: John Cleman, Rita Ledesma, Catherine Haras, and Deborah Schaeffer; And Emeriti Senator, Donald Dewey.	
2.	It was m/s/p (Moss) to approve the agenda.	APROVAL OF THE AGENDA
3.	3.1 Robert Land (Curriculum and Instruction) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2009-2010.	ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
	3.2 Scott Bowman (Political Science) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2009-2010.	
	3.3 Cari Flint (Communication Disorders) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2009-2010.	
	3.4 Rita Ledesma (Social Work), Nancy McQueen (Biological Sciences), Jimmy Moss (Art), and Michael Soldatenko (Chicano Studies), were elected to serve as members-at large of the Executive Committee for 2009-2010.	-
4.	It was m/s/p (Dewey) to adjourn at 2:20 p.m.	ADJOURNMENT