		ASM 08-22
ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES July 28, 2009		Approved August 11, 2009
P. Baler, W. Bishop, F. Cachelin, K. Karimlou, J. Rodriguez, J. Salcido, M. Siler, N. Taly, A. Veliz		ABSENT
S. Breivold, P. Chen, M. Falvey, C. Flint, E. Klein, J. Moss, Y. Song		EXCUSED ABSENCE
S. Bowman convened the meeting at 1:30 p.m.		
1.	The Chair's Announcements:	ANNOUNCEMENTS
	1.1 The ASI Board of Directors has appointed Maria Jeffrey as an ASI Undergraduate Academic Senator. This appointment is effective immediately.	
	 1.2 I am pleased to report that the following faculty members have been elected by the colleges to serve on the Semester Conversion Planning Task Force: Arts and Letters - Steven Classen Business and Economics - Carol Blaszczynski Charter College of Education - Nancy Hunt Engineering, Computer Science, and Technology - Russ Abbott Health and Human Services - Evelyn Calvillo Natural and Social Sciences - Edith Porter and the Library and Student Affairs - Michael Germano 	
	In addition, the two at-large members elected by the Academic Senate are Kevin Baaske and Sharon Ulanoff.	
2.	None.	INTENT TO RAISE QUESTIONS
3.	It was m/s/p (Dewey) to approve the minutes of the meeting of July 14, 2009 (ASM 08-21).	APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES
4.	It was m/s/p (Zepeda) to approve the agenda.	APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA
5.	President Rosser presented an update on the University budget. A question and answer period followed.	TOWN HALL MEETING ON THE UNIVERSITY BUDGET
6.	It was m/s/p (Dewey) to adjourn at 3:11 p.m.	ADJOURNMENT