	TATE UNIVERSTIY, LOS ANGELES NATE MINUTES	ASM 08-20 Approved July 14, 2009
	nn, M. Garcia, J. Hao, M. Hawley, K. Karimlou, H. K. Moo-Young, K. Persiani- y, P. Sharp, M. Tufenkjian	ABSENT
T. Allison, K. Baaske, A. McCurdy, P. Romero		EXCUSED ABSENCE
Vice Chair R. La	nd convened the meeting at 2:24 p.m.	
1. 1.1 The C	'hair's Announcements:	ANNOUNCEMENTS
1.1.1	I am pleased to report that Nancy Hunt, Charter College of Education, and Ester Hernandez, College of Natural and Social Sciences, have been elected by the Academic Senate to serve on the Nominations Committee for three-year terms ending 2012.	
1.1.2	Following is the response from Provost Cardoza to the question raised by Senator Beer at the Academic Senate meeting on May 12, 2009:	
	<i>Question:</i> I am raising this question on behalf of my colleagues. We would like to know if there are, at this time, liaisons from any of the science departments, math, and engineering with the Stern Magnet School or if that is in the works?	
	<i>Response:</i> The Division of Academic Affairs is establishing a committee of faculty, staff, and administrators to facilitate our work with partnership K-12 schools, including the Los Angeles County High School for the Arts (LACHSA), the Accelerated School, and the Stern Math and Science School (Stern MASS). The committee will be chaired by Dean Mary Falvey from the Charter College of Education and is charged with coordinating CSULA efforts to collaborate with these partner schools to conduct research, training, and other appropriate efforts. The Executive Committee of the Academic Senate has been asked to provide a list of faculty members who would be appropriate to appoint to this committee. I trust that the Executive Committee would welcome self-nominations from interested individuals from math, science, and engineering departments, as well as any other faculty members interested in partnerships with K-12 schools.	
	If you require any further information in response to this question, please do not hesitate to contact me.	
1.1.3	This being the final meeting of the Spring Quarter, I would like to acknowledge and to thank those members who have served on the Senate this year and who will not be returning in the Fall: Olaiya Aina, Gerald Beer, Joaquin Beltran, Jeffrey Benedict, Carol Blaszczynski, LiHsueh Chen, Margaret Clark, Jessica Dennis, Joel Ellwanger, Gaithri Fernando, Margaret Garcia, Raymond Garcia, Mark Hao, Michael Hoffman, Nancy Hunt, Kamran Karimlou, Alison McCurdy, Zeeshan Ott, Kimberly Persiani-Becker, Debasree Raychaudhuri, Kathryn Reilly, Mark Tufenkjian, Amber Veliz, and Richard Wearn.	
1.2 The Vice Chair's Announcements:		
1.2.1	Ann Wood (Applied and Advanced Studies in Education) has accepted appointment by the Nominations Committee to serve on the Student Policy Committee for a three-year term ending Summer Quarter, 2012.	
1.2.2	Jennifer McCormick (Curriculum and Instruction), Arturo Pacheco-Vega (Mechanical Engineering), and Romelia Salinas (Library), have accepted	

ANNOUNCEMENTS (Continued) appointment by the Nominations Committee to serve on the Student Educational Equity Advisory Committee to the Vice President for Student Affairs for three-year terms ending Summer Quarter, 2012. 1.2.3 The following faculty members have accepted appointment by the Nominations Committee to serve on the Honors Convocation and Commencement Committee for two-year terms ending Summer Quarter, 2011: for the College of Arts and Letters - Alan Bloom (Communication Studies), for the College of Business and Economics - Leslie Jane Park (Accounting), for the College of Health and Human Services - Yafen Lo (Child and Family Studies). 1.3 Senator Ledesma announced: You will be receiving in the mail when you return a request to participate in a special action by calling or sending faxes to the legislators to inform them that the CSU is a vital state resource that must be adequately funded. The Legislative Budget Conference Committee is scheduled to vote on the CSU budget this Thursday, June 4, and CFA has sent out a call for people to send faxes and make calls to send a message to legislative leaders to let them know a budget deal cannot be reached through cuts alone. 1.4 Senator Abdullah announced: CFA will be having its annual membership meeting this Thursday from 3:00 to 6:00 p.m. The meeting will be followed by, let's see, what shall we call it ... a party. We hope you will all come. If you RSVP to ext. 5310 or e-mail cfa@cslanet.calstatela.edu you will get a free drink ticket and we don't mean Coca Cola. 1.5 Richard Wearn announced: I would like to invite you all to the Luckman Gallery this Saturday night for the opening reception of the exhibit "Short Order: Accretions, Arrays and Anomalies." The showing culminates an Art Department spring seminar that brought artist Cindy Bernard to Cal State L.A. to mentor the project's graduate and senior art students. Please come along, it is from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. 1.6 Senator Beer announced: At the end of last month the Women's Track Team came in seventh overall in the NCAA Championship. INTENT TO RAISE QUESTIONS 2. None. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES 3. It was m/s/p (Moss) to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 26, 2009 (ASM 08-19). APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA 4. It was m/s/p (Yorker) to approve the agenda. ELECTION OF SUMMER QUARTER 5. 5.1 Marlene Zepeda (Child and Family Studies) was elected Vice Chair of the ALTERNATES FOR THE EXECUTIVE Academic Senate for the Summer Quarter, 2009. COMMITTEE 5.2 Cari Flint (Communication Disorders) was elected Secretary of the Academic

- 5.3 Randy Campbell (Special Education and Counseling), Joseph Prabhu (Philosophy), and Michael Soldatenko (Chicano Studies), were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for the Summer Quarter, 2009.
- 6. It was m/s/p (Bowman) to adjourn at 2:53 p.m.

Senate for Summer Quarter, 2009.

ADJOURNMENT