CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES May 27, 2008

D. W. Lee, H. K. Moo-Young

J. Ellwanger, L. Judson, D. Maurizio, J. Momand, M. Tufenkjian, R. Wearn

K. Baaske convened the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

- 1. 1.1 The Chair's Announcements:
 - 1.1.1 Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2008-2009 Academic Senate. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate those Senators who are newly elected, re-elected, or serving as one-year alternates for next year: for Arts and Letters: D. Robert De Chaine and Michelle Hawley; for the Charter College of Education: Lois Andre-Bechely and Sharon Ulanoff; for Engineering, Computer Science and Technology: Don Maurizio; for Health and Human Services: Lorie Judson; for Natural and Social Sciences: Joel Ellwanger, Gaithri Fernando, Michael Hoffman, Jamil Momand, and Debasree Raychaudhuri; for the Library and Student Affairs: Yongyi Song; serving as Senators-at-Large: Melina Abdullah, Philip LaPolt, Rita Ledesma, and Nancy McQueen; and representing the Emeriti: Donald Dewey.
 - 1.1.2 I am very sad to announce the passing of Alan Stein, a Librarian at Cal State L.A. for over 31 years and husband of Lia Kahmi-Stein. He died on Sunday, May 25th, after battling a very difficult illness. Graveside services will be held this Thursday, May 29th, at 3:00 p.m. at Rose Hills Cemetery in the city of Whittier. Those planning to attend should enter the cemetery through Gate 1 to Morning Glory Terrace Lawn. In lieu of flowers the family has asked that a donation be made to the American Cancer Society in Alan's names.
 - 1.1.3 The ORSP Café is having a panel discussion featuring a five CSULA Fulbright Award recipients: Ann Garry, Antony Kunnan, Timothy Lim, Stephen Ma, and Ann Snow. It will be held in the University Club, 3:30 to 5:00 p.m.
 - 1.1.4 The CFA CSULA chapter is inviting you to an end of the quarter celebration next Wednesday, 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in the Applied Gerontology Institute.
 - 1.2 Senator Land announced: The Los Angeles Writing Project will be having its first annual Young Writer's Camp on campus this summer. The flyers are in the back of the room. And for the first time there will be a Young Filmmakers Camp. More information is available on the flyer; and don't forget to ask for the 10% faculty discount.
 - 1.3 Senator Classen announced: The campus community is invited to the film festival that begins this weekend. The festival, Reel Rasquache 2008: Festival of the U.S. Latino Experience in Film & Art, will take place in the Intimate Theatre at the Luckman. For more information contact the Communication Studies Department.
- 2. It was m/s/p Garcia to approve the agenda.
- 3. 3.1 Kevin T. Baaske (Communication Studies) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2008-2009.
 - 3.2 Robert Land (Curriculum and Instruction) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2008-2009.
 - 3.3 Scott Bowman (Political Science) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2008-2009.

ASM 08-1 Approved June 24, 2008

ABSENT

EXCUSED ABSENCE

INTRODUCTION OF NEW SENATORS AND ANNOUNCE-MENTS

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

ASM 08-1 May 27, 2008 Page 2

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Continued)

ADJOURNMENT

- 3.4 Cari Flint (Communication Disorders), Philip LaPolt (Biological Sciences), Nancy McQueen (Biological Sciences), and Marlene Zepeda (Child and Family Studies), were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2008-2009.
- 4. It was m/s/p (Garcia) to adjourn at 2:03 p.m.