CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES May 29, 2001

http://www.calstatela.edu/academic/senate

R. Avelar-LaSalle, K. Baaske, A. Bhaumik, R. Campbell, M. Diaz, A. Frank, G. Graham, G.T. Haight, P. Hechler, R. Landis, N. Pulchritudoff, C. Selkin, D. Soltz, K. Wasley

D. Margaziotis, A. Modarres, M. Mohanty, A. Mori

W. Taylor convened the meeting 2:13 p.m.

1. The Chair's Announcements:

- 1.1 I am pleased to report that Martin Roden was elected as Senator-at-large for a threeyear term ending Summer, 2004. Since Senator Roden was an incumbent Senator whose term ended in 2003, he will assume the new seat and the first alternate, Ted Anagnoson, will assume the remainder of the term for the vacated seat.
- 1.2 Included in your packet for today's meeting is a blue membership list for the Summer Quarter Senate. There is one change to that list which should be written in for the College of Natural and Social Sciences Wayne Tikkanen is listed as the alternate for Demetrius Margaziotis; Dr. Tikkanen is unable to serve so Michael Siler will be serving as the alternate.
- 1.3 This being the last meeting of the Spring Quarter for the regular Senate, it is traditional to thank all of you who have served for the past year either as a regular Senator, a one-year alternate, or a one-quarter alternate thank you. I personally will thank you for serving your faculty this past year. I certainly do appreciate all of your contributions and it has been a pleasure to work with you.

2. None.

- 3. 3.1 It was m/s/ (Schaeffer) to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 22, 2001 (ASM 00-16).
 - 3.2 Senator Anagnoson reported that in item 1.2 the name McEnroe was misspelled.
 - 3.3 Senator Dewey reported that there were two typographical errors in item 5.5.
 - 3.4 The minutes were approved as corrected.
- 4. It was m/s/p (Mason) to approve the agenda.
- 5. The election was held.
- 6. Statewide Senators E. F. Anderson and M. Cates responded to questions about the May 10-11 Statewide Senate meeting.
- 7. E. Frederick Anderson (Social Work), Kevin Baaske (Communication Studies), Deborah Schaeffer (Library), and Patricia Chin (Nursing) were elected to serve on the Executive Committee as members-at-large for the Summer Quarter 2001.
- 8. It was m/s/p (Garcia) to adjourn at 2:35 p.m.

ASM 00-17 Approved June 26, 2001

ABSENT

EXCUSED ABSENCE

ANNOUNCEMENTS

INTENT TO RAISE QUESTIONS

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETICS BOARD: ELECTION OF ONE MEMBER

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS – STATEWIDE SENATE MEETING: MAY 10-11, 2001

ELECTION OF SUMMER QUARTER ALTERNATES FOR THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: ELECTION OF FOUR MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

ADJOURNMENT