CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES May 30, 2000 http://www.calstatela.edu/academic/senate	ASM 00-1 Approved July 11, 2000
R. Avelar-La Salle, K. Baaske, G. Graham, G. T. Haight, J. Kelly, R. Landis, E. Malecki, S. Mason, A. Modarres, A. Mori, M. Roden, C. Selkin, S. Venit, K. Wasley	ABSENT
M. Mohanty, L. Tunstad	EXCUSED ABSENCE
M. Cates convened the meeting at 1:37 p.m.	
1. The Chair's Announcements:	ANNOUNCEMENTS
 1.1 Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2000-01 Academic Senate. I would like to introduce the newly elected Senators and one year alternates for 2000-01: Senators at Large: Martin Roden and Lillian Taiz Arts and Letters: Mark Balaguer, Jeffrey Benedict and Jennifer Faust Business and Economic: Blair Berkley and Madhu Mohanty Education: Robin Avelar-La Salle and Nancy Hunt Engineering and Technology: Anjan Bhaumik Health and Human Services: Patricia Chin and Valerie Kehm Natural and Social Sciences: Michael Hoffman, Richard Katz, Raymond Garcia, Demetrius Margaziotis, Lillian Taiz, and Linda Tunstad 1.2 Two of the names I just read need to be added to the 2000-01 Senate membership list included in your packet. For the School of Engineering and Technology, next to Martin Roden please write in Anjan Bhaumik and for the School of Natural and Social Sciences, next to Lillian Taiz please write in Linda Tunstad. (Since Roden and Taiz were elected to the senator-at-large seats, one-year alternates serve in the school seats.) 1.3 A one-time increase in lottery funds will result in the schools and the library receiving approximately 50% more lottery funds this year. 	
 It was m/s/p (Anagnoson) to approve the agenda. 	APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA
 3.1 William Taylor (Physics and Astronomy) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2000-2001. 	ELECTION OF OFFICERS
3.2 Theodore Anagnoson (Political Science) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2000-2001.	
3.3 Susan Cash (Art) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2000-2001. Jeffrey Benedict (Music), Jennifer Faust (Philosophy), Nancy Hunt (Special Educa- tion) and Raymond Garcia (Chemistry and Biochemistry) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2000-2001.	
4. It was m/s/p (Dewey) to adjourn at 2:11 p.m.	