

ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT SUB-COMMITTEE

AAS16 06

MINUTES OF THE MEETING: February 6, 2017

PRESENT: D. Won, M. Murota, M. Hawley, M. Fryling, N. Martinez, R. Davis, R. Giarrusso, V.

Prabhu, Y. Xu

EXCUSED ABSENCE: D. Finnochiaro

ABSENT: N. Cohick

V. Prabhu (immediate past chair) convened the meeting on behalf of Chair D. Finnochiaro at 12:15 p.m. in ADM. 313.

1. Announcements

V. Prabhu announced conducted elections for the Vice Chair and the committee elected Dr. Deborah Won

2. Intent to Raise Questions

None

3. Chair's Report

V. Prabhu presented the Chair's Report

4. Liaison's Report (EPC):

M. Hawley presented Liaison's Report.

5. Liaison's Report (SPC):

M. Fryling presented Liaison's Report.

6. Approval of the Agenda (AASC 17 06)

m/s/p (D. Won) to approve the agenda as submitted

7. Approval of the minutes (AASC 16 05)

m/s/p (D. Won) to approve the agenda as submitted

8. Professional Advisors: Follow up & Action Items

The committee appreciated the feedback received from Professional Advisors and agreed to work on a framework the delineates the role of faculty advisors and professional advisors. Furthermore, the committee will deliberate and follow up on other action items based on the feedback they received from the professional advisors and faculty advisor. A time certain will be held with the Professional Advisor of CCOE.

9. Revisiting AAS Goals for Spring 2017

The committed discussed the various AAS goals agreed upon in Fall 2016 and prioritized them.

10. AAS Committee Structure

The committee will work on modifying the existing policy so as to propose the inclusion of professional advisor/s.

11. EPC Charge to AAS

It was agreed that all members will share their input about the role of Faculty in advising taking into account the collaborative work between professional advisors and faculty. To be continued.

12. SPC Charge to AAS

On reviewing the existing policy on student rights presented to AAS by SPC, there was consensus that the policy is poorly written. To be continued.

13. Adjournment

m/s/p (V. Prabhu) adjourned at 1:30pm.

Distribution:

Darlene Finnochio (Vice Chair)

Deborah Won Marcia Murota Michelle Hawley Mika Cho Mitchell Fryling Nancy Cohick Naomi Martinez

Naomi Martinez Roseann Giarrusso Veena Prabhu (Chair)

Ying Xu

EPC Committee Liaison

College of Engineering, Computer Science and Technology Ex Officio, Director of University Academic Advisement Center

Provost or Designee (Exec. Sec.) College of Arts and Letters

Charter College of Education/ SPC Committee Liasion

College of Health and Human Services

University Academic Advisement Center (Recording Secretary)

College of Natural and Social Sciences College of Business and Economics Library and Student Affairs Undergraduate Student Graduate Student