



### **NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE**

#### Confidential

**APPROVED** 

MINUTES: September 19, 2024

PRESENT: M. Hayes, D. Hazra, N. O'Brien, T. Ford-Baxter, C. Orosco,

M. Abdullah

EXCUSED

J. Chang, J. DeShazo

ABSENT:

### 1. Announcements

- Paul Narguizian (NSS, Bio Sci) accepted nomination to serve on the Campus Sustainability Committee, One-Year Terms Ending 2025
- 2. **Approval of agenda-** It was M/S/P (M. Hayes)
- 3. Approval of Minutes of (NCM24-02) and (NCM23-10)
  - Approval of minutes for (NCM24-02) was M/S/P (N. O'Brien) and approval of minutes for (NCM23-10) was M/S/P (M. Hayes)
- 4. Campus Sustainability Committee (NC 24-1) Election of Four Members, One-Year Terms Ending 2025
  - M. Abdullah would like to ask Exec Committee two questions:
    - Can Lecturers be elected into the committees? Colleges with smaller groups of tenureline faculty have difficulty getting nominations. Since Lecturers are able to serve on the Academic Senate, is it possible to also have that option for committees?
    - Can we put a process in place, maybe through a policy change, which creates a checksand-balance for diverse representation in each committees? The existing process does provide diverse representation for colleges and disciplines. However, there is no way to ensure racial/ethnic/gender representation. Is it possible to create a process which allows for this?
  - Devika will send a note to J. DeShazo (Exec Liaison) to bring question to Exec Committee as J.DeShazo is absent to today's meeting.
  - The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked:

Mijan Rahman (AL, English), Choi Chatterjee (NSS, History), Paul Narguizian (NSS, Bio Sci) (Currently Serving), Juan Lamata (AL, English), Xin Wen (NSS, Chem). Gokhan Kumpas (CBE, Econ) (Currently serving), Mine Ucok-Hughes (CBE, Mkt), Benjamin Emihovich (COE, AASE), Shichun Ling (Asmineh) (HHS, Crim Justice), Theresa Meyerott (COE, AASE), Maria Hernandez (HHS, Social Work), Rui Hu (CBE, Acct), Kathleen Sullivan (NSS, Anthro), Christopher Harris (AL, English), Maryam Tofighi (CBE, Marketing), Roger Mendoza (CBE, Mgmt), Neda Mosaei (CBE, Mkt), Sierra Bray (AL, Comm), Seth Kurzban (HHS, Soc Work), Molly Talcott (NSS, Sociology), Manveen Kaur (ECST, Comp Sci), Michele Bleuze (NSS, Anthro), Phung Huynh (AL, Art), Josh Nuthill (AL, Art), Mercedes Chavez (AL, TVFM) Joe Potts (AL, Art), Elainne Draper (NSS, Sociology), Marco Del Angel (CBE, Econ), Rachel Pearl (AL, TVFM), Arjun Mitra (CBE, Mgmt), Yilin Feng (ECST, Tech), Younggeun Lee (CBE, Mgmt), Dalia Droege (AL, TVFM), Kelly Yoon (CBE, Mkt), Julian Nykolak (AL, Art), Pooya Tabesh (CBE, Mgmt), April Brown (AL, TVFM), Erica Ellis (HHS, ComD), Behjat A. Sharif (HHS, Pub Health)

5. **The President's Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Degrees (NC 24-2)** – Election of Four Faculty Members, No More than One from Any One College

• The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked:

James Thomas (CES, Pan African Studies), Sierra Bray (AL, Comm), Ligiah Villalobos (AL, TVFM), Phung Huynh (AL, Art), Mijan Rahman (AL, English), Charleata Battle (CBE, Mgmt) (Currently Serving), Beverly Stein (AL, Music), Cynthia Wang (AL, Comm), Chungsheng Bai (AL, Comm), Rui Hu (CBE, Acct), Gokhan Kumpas (CBE, Econ), Shichun Ling (HHS, Crim Justice), Roger Mendoza (CBE, Mgmt), Younggeun Lee (CBE, Mgmt), Neda Mosaei (CBE, Mkt), Nika Qiao (CBE, Acct), Maria Hernandez (HHS, Social Work), Benjamin Emihovich (COE, AASE), Manveen Kaur (ECST, Comp Sci), Elainne Draper (NSS, Sociology), Xin Wen (NSS, Chem), Emilie Royer (NSS, Physics and Astron), Yangyang Liu (NSS, Chem), Yuanyuan Li (CBE, Mkt), Gretchen Lawrie (CBE, Acct), Minyoung Noh (CBE, Acct), Mohammad Hashemi Joo (CBE, Finance)

## 6. Student Policy Committee -Nominations seat

- Vacant Nominations seat, current faculty is on maternity leave and the alternate is not able to fill seat for semester.
- Committee agreed to seek nominations at their college, send names to Devika and Nina, then vote in 2 weeks.
- Committee agreed to complete via email.

# 7. DRAFT 2024-2025 University Committee Service Memo (NC 24-3)

- Memo is complete and will be sent out on Tuesday, Oct. 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024, with a deadline of Friday, Oct. 25, 2024.
- 8. **Adjournment**: Meeting adjourned at 11:56 am M/S/P (N. O'Brien)