

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES

# NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE Confidential

NCM 23-09 APPROVED

- MINUTES: March 7, 2024
- PRESENT: S. Frenda, D. Hazra, T. Ford-Baxter, C. Orosco, J. Chang, N. O'Brien, S. Nelson

## EXCUSED

### ABSENT:

#### 1. Announcements

- D.Hazra announced the exec board is discussing and revising the Intercollegiate Athletics Board policy language.
- Jessica Michelle Dennis (HHS) accepted nomination to serve on the Faculty Policy Committee for a three-year term starting in Fall 2024 and ending in Spring 2027.
- Xiangge (Angela) Wang accepted nomination to serve on the Student Policy Committee for a three-year term starting in Fall 2024 and ending in Spring 2027.

#### 2. Approval of Minutes of February 15, 2024 (NCM23-06)

- Pending revision- In Announcements we need to include results from accepted nomination vote results.
- Approval of minutes was m/s/p (S. Nelson).

### 3. Approval of the Agenda

- Approval of agenda was m/s/p (D. Hazra).
- 4. Confirmed to serve:
  - Resource Allocation Advisory Committee- Joanna Zhao (CBE)
  - Student Grievance Committee: May Fu (CES)\* waiting to get confirmation
  - University Auxiliary Service, Inc. Board of Directors: Jim Kuo (ECST)
  - University Student Union Board of Directors: Anika Sarin (A&L)
  - University Honors and Commencement Committee: Suzanne Regan (A&L), Jennifer Weyman (COE), Tarisis Vunidilo (CES) \*- waiting to get confirmations.

#### Second-Reading Items

- 5. Resource Allocation Advisory Committee-Election of One Member, three-year term ending in 2027
  - The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Joanna Zhao (CBE), Robert Weide (NSS), Ya-chih "Jilly Chang (CoE), Anika Sarin (A&L), Younggeun Lee (CBE), Lili Zhou (CoE), Mohammad Hashemi Joo (CBE), Leila Ricci (CoE), Roger Mendoza (CBE), Iksuk Kim (CBE)
- 6. Student Grievance Committee-Election of Three Members, (no more than one from any one college) oneyear term ending in 2025
  - The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Cynthia Wang (A&L), May Fu (CoES), Leila Ricci (CoE), Anwesha Chowdhury (CBE), Joshua Ruffin (HHS), Christopher Harris (A&L), Yuanyuan Li (CBE), Kamran Afary (A&L), Anika Sarin (A&L), Denice Rios Mojica (CoE), Jennifer Symon (CoE), Kirstin Uomoto (HHS), Justin Troyka (NSS), Jessica Dennis (HHS), Michael Clarke (A&L), Gar Colbert (NSS), Oliviero Rodriguez (A&L), Stacey Warner (HHS), James Ford (A&L), Joyce Parga (NSS), Roger Mendoza (CBE), Iksuk Kim (CBE), Serdar Yayla (CBE).

7. University Auxiliary Service, Inc. Board of Directors-Election of One Member, three-year term ending in 2027

The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Jim Kuo (ECST), Cheryl Kamei Hannan (CoE), Jiwon Hwang (CoE), David Blekhman (ECST), Edith Porter (NSS), Iksuk Kim (CBE), Anika Sarin (A&L), Somak Banerjee (CBE), Younggeun Lee (CBE)

8. University Student Union Board of Directors-Election of One Member, two-year term ending in 2025

The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Anika Sarin (A&L), Jennifer Wyman (CoE), Karyn Lawrence (A&L), Xiangge (Angela) Wang (CBE), Anwesha Chowdhury (CBE), Joanna Zhao (CBE), Benjamin Emihovich (CoE), Mohammad Hashemi Joo (CBE)

- 9. University Honors and Commencement Committee- Election of One member, one-year term ending in 2025 & Four members, two-year term ending in 2026
  - The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Suzanne Regan (A&L), Karyn Lawrence (A&L), Anika Sarin (A&L), Jennifer Wyman (CoE), Michael Thomas (ECST), Lily Chen (ECST), Denice Rios Mojica (CoE), Benjamin Emihovich (CoE), Marina Cuzovic-Severn (A&L), Mohammad Aural (A&L), Nicholas Casias (CoE)
  - Committee did not rank/vote on these because there was only one person from those colleges: Xian Gao (NSS), Tarisi Vunidilo (CoES), Kathryn Perry (LSA)
- 10. Meeting Adjourned at 11:36 am to adjourn the meeting m/s/p (D.Hazra)