

NCM 23-03

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Confidential

APPROVED

MINUTES: October 26, 2023

PRESENT: J. Chang, T. Ford-Baxter, S. Frenda, D. Hazra, S. Nelson, N.

O'Brien,, V. Talavera-Bustillos

EXCUSED

ABSENT: C. Orosco

- 1. Announcements:
 - No announcements
- 2. Approval of minutes
 - It was m/s/p (J.Chang) to approve the minutes.
- 3. Approval of the Agenda
 - It was m/s/p (V. Talavera-Bustillos) to approval of agenda.
 - The agenda was approved as amended.
- 4. **The President's Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Degrees** (NC 23-2) Election of Four Faculty Members, No More than One from Any One College
 - Committee voted for Ad Hoc Committee members.

The President's Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Degrees (NC 23-2) – Election of Four Faculty Members, No More than One from Any One College.

The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Tarisi Vunidilo (COES), Anika Sarin (A&L), Adam Snow (A&L), Cynthia Wang (A&L), Charleata Battle (CBE), Wook Yang (HHS), Gar Culbert (NSS), Miwako Hisagi (HHS), Younggeun Lee (CBE), Benjamin Emihovich (COE), James M. Thomas (COES), Minyoung Noh (CBE), Edith Porter (NSS), Yuanyuan Li (CBE), Rui (Shelley) Hu (CBE), Gokhan Kumpas (CBE), Mohammad Joo (CBE), Xin Wen (NSS), Alejandro Villalpando (COES), Shilpa Balan (CBE), James Ford (A&L), Ligiah Villalobos (A&L), Roger Mendoza (CBE)

- 5. The Faculty Perceptions of Performance of Administrators ad hoc committee Election of Two Faculty Members
 - S. Frenda will email committee to put forward names.
- 6. DRAFT 2023-2024 University Committee Service Memo (NC 23-3)
 - The Committee reviewed and discussed the Campus Sustainable Committee Service survey.
 - Committee will test out survey before sending out to everyone.
- 7. **Adjournment:** It was m/s/p (V. Talavera-Bustillos) at 11:52p.m. to adjourn the meeting