

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE Confidential

NCM 22-06 APPROVED

MINUTES: March 2, 2023

PRESENT: Y. Chang, C. Flint, S. Frenda, S. Nelson, N. O'Brien, V. Talavera-Bustillos, H. Yu

excused

ABSENCE:

ABSENT:

- 1. Announcements: None
- 2. Intent to Raise Questions None
- **3.** Approval of the Minutes of February 23, 2023 (<u>NC M22-05</u>) It was m/s/p (Nelson) to approve the minutes of the meeting of February 23, 2023 (NC M22-05).
- 4. Approval of the Agenda

It was m/s/p (Nelson) to approve the agenda.

Second-Reading Items:

5. University Invention and Patent Evaluation Committee – Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026

The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Silvia Martin (B&E), Shilpa Balan (B&E), Charles Danso (B&E), Roger Mendoza (B&E), Mo Pourhomayoun (ECST), Iksuk Kim (B&E), Xin Wen (NSS), Bingbing Wang (B&E), Freddy Lee (B&E), Manveen Kaur (ECST), Ramin Maysami (B&E).

- Institutional Review Board Human Subjects Recommendation for Two Members One Scientist and One Non-Scientist, Four Year Terms Ending 2027 This agenda item was deferred until the next meeting pending clarification on the definition of scientist versus non-scientist.
- Academic Freedom and Professional Ethics Committee Election of One Member (Rank of Full Professor), Five-Year Term Ending 2028 The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Molly Talcott (NSS), Birte Pfleger (NSS), Ambika Raj (COE), Tanya Kane-Parry (A&L), Iksuk Kim (B&E), Elaine Draper (NSS), Behjat Sharif (HHS).
- Campus Physical Planning Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026 The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Kendall Faulkner (LSA), April Brown (A&L), Bingbing Wang (B&E), Somak Banerjee (B&E), David Blekhman (ECST), Mohammed Abed (A&L), Iksuk Kim (B&E).

NCM 20- March 2, 2023 Page 2

- 9. Cal State LA Foundation Board of Trustees Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026 The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Devika Hazra (B&E), David Blekhman (ECST), Cheryl Kamei Hannan (COE), Shikha Upadhyaya (B&E), Mabel Sanchez (B&E), Iksuk Kim (B&E), Xin Wen (NSS), Bingbing Wang (B&E), Minyoung Noh (B&E), Younggeun Lee (B&E), Anika Sarin (A&L), Maria Oropeza Fujimoto (COE), Silvia Martin (B&E), Elaine Draper (NSS).
- 10. Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 11. Risk Management and Safety Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 12. Space Management Subcommittee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 13. Student Grievance Committee Election of Three Members (No More Than One From Any College), One-Year Terms Ending 2024
- 14. University Auxiliary Services, Inc. Board of Directors Election of One Member, There-Year Term Ending 2026
- 15. University Student Union Board Election of One Member, Two-Year Term Ending 2025
- 16. University Honors and Commencement Committee Election of Three Members, One Member Each from the College of Business and Economics, College of Health and Human Services, and College of Ethnic Studies (*from the slates of nominees provided by the colleges*), Two-Year Terms Ending 2025

17. Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 p.m.