

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE Confidential

NCM 22-05 APPROVED

MINUTES: February 23, 2023

PRESENT: Y. Chang, C. Flint, S. Frenda, S. Nelson, N. O'Brien, V. Talavera-Bustillos, H. Yu

excused

ABSENCE:

ABSENT:

- 1. Announcements: None
- 2. Intent to Raise Questions None
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of February 16, 2023 (<u>NC M22-04</u>) It was m/s/p (Flint) to approve the minutes of the meeting of February 16, 2023 (NC M22-04).
- Approval of the Agenda It was m/s/p (Flint) to approve the agenda.

 Range Elevation Appeals Committee (<u>NC 22-05</u>) – Election of Five Tenured Faculty Members, No More than One from Any One College, One-Year Terms Ending in 2024 The following five faculty members were nominated and elected: Mohammed Abed (A&L), Ramin Maysami (B&E), Mohammad Pourhomayoun (ECST), Steven Frenda (NSS), and Cinthya Sotelo (HHS). The alternate for this committee is Jieru Bai (HHS).

Second-Reading Items:

 Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee – Election of One Member, One Scientist, Four-Year Term Ending 2027

Edith Porter (NSS) was nominated and elected.

- Faculty Policy Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026 Heidi Riggio (NSS), Miwako Hisagi (HHS), Sharon Ulanoff (COE), Pat Krug (NSS), Stefan Keslacy (HHS), Meredith Greenburg (A&L), William Rosales (NSS), Patti Kilroy (A&L), Mijanur Rahman (A&L), Seth Kurzban (HHS), Xin Wen (NSS), Shikha Upadhyaya (B&E), Maryam Nazari (ECST), Manveen Kaur (ECST), Christina Restrepo (COE), Charleata Battle (B&E)
- Fiscal Policy Committee Election of Two Members, Three-Year Terms Ending 2026 Holly Yu (LSA), Mark Wild (NSS), Jessica DeShazo (NSS), Edith Porter (NSS), Meredith Greenburg (A&L), Cheryl Kamei-Hannan (COE), Maria Oropeza Fujimoto (COE), Mohammad Abed (A&L), William Rosales (NSS), Charleata Battle (B&E)
- 9. Outstanding Professor Awards Selection Committee Election of Five Members, One-Year Terms Ending 2024

Molly Talcott (NSS), Miwako Hisagi (HHS), Somak Banerjee (B&E), Mohamed Awad (B&E), Mo Pourhomayoun (ECST), Minyoung Noh (B&E), Chongmyoung Lee (NSS), Yiting Cao (B&E), Xiangge (Angela) Wang (B&E), Arjun Mitra (B&E), Jieru Bai (HHS), Wook Yang (HHS), Karyn Lawrence (A&L), Anika Sarin (A&L), Carlena Orosco (HHS), Bingbing Wang (B&E), Su Jeong Wee (HHS), Elaine Draper (NSS)

- 10. University Invention and Patent Evaluation Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 11. Institutional Review Board Human Subjects Recommendation for Two Members One Scientist and One Non-Scientist, Four Year Terms Ending 2027
- 12. Academic Freedom and Professional Ethics Committee Election of One Member (Rank of Full Professor), Five-Year Term Ending 2028
- 13. Campus Physical Planning Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 14. Cal State LA Foundation Board of Trustees Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 15. Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 16. Risk Management and Safety Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 17. Space Management Subcommittee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 18. Student Grievance Committee Election of Three Members (No More Than One From Any College), One-Year Terms Ending 2024
- 19. University Auxiliary Services, Inc. Board of Directors Election of One Member, There-Year Term Ending 2026
- 20. University Student Union Board Election of One Member, Two-Year Term Ending 2025
- 21. University Honors and Commencement Committee Election of Three Members, One Member Each from the College of Business and Economics, College of Health and Human Services, and College of Ethnic Studies (from the slates of nominees provided by the colleges), Two-Year Terms Ending 2025

22. Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 12:01 p.m.