

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES

NCM 22-04

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Confidential

APPROVED

MINUTES: February 16, 2023

PRESENT: Y. Chang, C. Flint, S. Frenda, S. Nelson, N. O'Brien, V. Talavera-

Bustillos, H. Yu

EXCUSED

ABSENCE:

ABSENT:

1. Announcements:

None

2. Intent to Raise Questions

None

3. Approval of the Minutes of February 2, 2023 (NC M22-03)

It was m/s/p to approve the minutes of the meeting of February 2, 2023 (NC M22-03).

4. Approval of the Agenda

It was m/s/p to approve the agenda.

5. University Academic Appeals Board – Election of Slate of Nominees for One Member-at-Large, Two- Year Term Ending 2025

The following faculty members were selected for the slate of nominees: Mijanur Rahman (A&L), Mohammad Auwal (A&L), Anna Osipova (COE), Yunzhen (Judy) Huang (COE), Manveen Kaur (ECST), John Van Gieson (ECST), Seth Kurzban (HHS), Heidi Riggio (NSS), Rui Hu (B&E)

6. Intercollegiate Athletics Board (NC 22-04) – Election of Slate of Nominees - One Female Faculty Member, Four-Year Term Ending 2027

The following faculty members were selected for the slate of nominees: Bingbing Wang (B&E) and Roberta (Robbie) Beyer (HHS)

7. Range Elevation Appeals Committee (NC 22-05) – Election of Five Tenured Faculty Members, No More than One from Any One College, One-Year Terms Ending in 2024

Committee members will reach out to the faculty in their colleges to obtain more nominations.

Second-Reading Items:

- 8. Educational Policy Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
 The following faculty candidates were nominated and ranked: Kathryn (Mandy) Hillstrom (HHS), Meredith
 Greenburg (A&L), Shikha Upadhyaya (B&E), Stefan Keslacy (HHS), Mijanur Rahman (A&L), Charleata
 Battle (B&E), Patti Kilroy (A&L), Manveen Kaur (ECST), William Rosales (NSS), Seth Kurzban (HHS)
- 9. Faculty Policy Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 10. Fiscal Policy Committee Election of Two Members, Three-Year Terms Ending 2026
- 11. Outstanding Professor Awards Selection Committee Election of Five Members, One-Year Terms Ending 2024

- 12. University Invention and Patent Evaluation Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 13. Institutional Review Board Human Subjects Recommendation for Two Members One Scientist and One Non-Scientist, Four Year Terms Ending 2027
- 14. Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee Election of One Member, One Scientist or One Non-Scientist, Four-Year Term Ending 2027
- 15. Academic Freedom and Professional Ethics Committee Election of One Member (Rank of Full Professor), Five-Year Term Ending 2028
- 16. Campus Physical Planning Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 17. Cal State LA Foundation Board of Trustees Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 18. Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 19. Risk Management and Safety Committee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 20. Space Management Subcommittee Election of One Member, Three-Year Term Ending 2026
- 21. Student Grievance Committee Election of Three Members (No More Than One From Any College), One-Year Terms Ending 2024
- 22. University Auxiliary Services, Inc. Board of Directors Election of One Member, There-Year Term Ending 2026
- 23. University Student Union Board Election of One Member, Two-Year Term Ending 2025
- 24. University Honors and Commencement Committee Election of Three Members, One Member Each from the College of Business and Economics, College of Health and Human Services, and College of Ethnic Studies (*from the slates of nominees provided by the colleges*), Two-Year Terms Ending 2025

25. Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 12:03 p.m.