

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES Emeriti Association's Annual Emeriti Scholarship /Fellowship Recognition Event

November 19, 2022

WELCOME

Kathryn C. Reilly President, Emeriti Association

Jose A. Gomez Provost and Executive Vice President, Cal State LA

EMERITI ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP / FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM

Alfredo Gonzalez Chair, Fellowship Committee

PRESENTATION OF SCHOLARSHIP AND FELLOWSHIP RECIPIENTS

Alfredo Gonzalez Chair, Fellowship Committee

Deborah Schaeffer Membership Director, Emeriti Association

Dorothy Keane Member, Emeriti Association Executive Committee and Past President



2022-23 EMERITI FUND GRADUATE FELLOWSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

Amanda Ozuna* School of Social Work - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

> Amir Mohammad Kashani Javid* Accounting - College of Business and Economics

Ana Silva Carmona Aguilar Communication Disorders - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

Brooke Mero* School of Social Work - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

Dalila Valdez Renteria Latin American Studies - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Dana Abbou Abbas* Biological Studies - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Gloria Sosa Malacara Anthropology - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Gregory Esparza Chicana/o Latina/o Studies - College of Ethnic Studies

Irene Benitez Special Education and Counseling - College of Education

Makayla Shapiro Psychology - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Michelle Hernandez School of Social Work - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

Molly Jimenez* Communication Disorders - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services



Sarah Rochelle Gervacio Rivera Special Education and Counseling - College of Education

Tamaraya Scheller* School of Social Work - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

> Tiffany Cendejas* Special Education and Counseling - College of Education

Victor Pinzon Gonzalez* School of Social Work - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

2022-23 NAMED EMERITI GRADUATE FELLOWSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

Sidney P. Albert Emeriti Fellowship

Megan Donham Anthropology - College of Natural and Social Sciences

James M. Rosser Emeriti Fellowship

Sean Lyon Biological Sciences - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Carol J. Smallenberg Emeriti Fellowship Karla Sanchez* Special Education and Counseling - College of Education

The above-named fellowships honor the significant contributions to the Emeriti Association and/or the University made by the individuals whose names they bear.



2022-23 NAMED ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS AND FELLOWSHIPS

Brodwin Family Fellowship in Rehabilitation Counseling

Helen Pineda Special Education and Counseling - College of Education

Costello Brown Scholarship in Chemistry/Biochemistry

Arianna Camarena Geosciences and Environment - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Roland Carpenter Memorial Scholarship

Juliann Penhal* Physics and Astronomy - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Bill Darrough, Eleni Pitsiou-Darrough and Athena Fellowship

Andrea Dominguez Sociology - College of Natural and Social Sciences

David Cameron Fisher Memorial Fellowship

Stephanie Varghese* Biological Sciences - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Mary Gormly Memorial Fellowship

Nicolás De Leon Latin American Studies - College of Natural and Social Sciences

John L. Houk Memorial Fellowship

Enrique Vasquez Political Science - College of Natural and Social Sciences

William E. Lloyd Memorial Fellowship

Maria Cortez* Political Science - College of Natural and Social Sciences

Leonard Mathy Fellowship in Economics

Jennifer Nazario* Economics and Statistics - College of Business and Economics



Jane Matson Memorial Fellowship

Giovani Bautista

Special Education and Counseling - College of Education

Vicente Zapata Scholarship in Public Health or Nutritional Science

Israel Gutierrez Public Health - Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services

* Unable to Attend

CLOSING REMARKS

Alfredo Gonzalez Chair, Fellowship Committee

Special Thanks to the Following for Reviewing Scholarship and Fellowship Applications

Kevin Baaske Jerry Beer Pat Chin John Cleman Stephen Felszeghy Jose Galvan Alfredo Gonzalez Carlos Gutierrez Janet Hoult Martin Huld Dorothy Keane Kathryn C. Reilly Deborah Schaeffer Carl Selkin Nadine Steinberg-Koch William Taylor Bea Yorker Marlene Zepeda

Special Thanks to the Following for Their Help During the Fellowship Review Process and in Organizing this Event

Ana Caudillo James Cuaresma Stephen Felszeghy Maria Magolske Susana Moreno Kathryn C. Reilly Delmy Ruiz Chris Truong

Thanks to the Members of the Fellowship Awards Committee for Their Contributions to the Planning of this Event and Their Many Other Contributions Throughout the Year

John Cleman Stephen Felszeghy Jose Galvan Dorothy Keane Deborah Schaeffer