Honors and Appointments

Honors and Appointments

Kenneth Anderson (Biology and Microbiology) was appointed President, Southern California Branch of the American Society for Microbiology, 1995-1997.

Daniel N. Crecelius (History) has been selected to receive a Fulbright grant for research at the Alexandria University in Alexandria, Egypt.

Marilyn M. Friedman (Nursing) was appointed to the Education Committee of the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties in 1995. She was also selected as the Executive Director/Coordinator of the Southern California Consortium of Practitioner Education, a regional planning organization, effective in 1995. Friedman is administering a $100,000 grant awarded to SCCOPE by the California Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development. With these funds, 15 primary care practitioner program directors/coordinators are developing and participating in regional curricular activities.

Bernardo P. Gallegos (Educational Foundations and Interdivisional Studies) was appointed president-elect for the American Educational Studies Association for 1995-96; elected president of History of Reading, SIG, for the International Reading Association, 1994-95. His book, Literacy Education and Society in New Mexico, 1693-1821, received the Critics Choice Book Award from American Educational Studies Association for 1994-95.

G. Shizuko Herrera (Theatre Arts and Dance) was included in the Fall 1995 Theatre Communications Group, Inc. Artist Bulletin, which focuses on artists of color. This is a resource bulletin of directors, designers and choreographers identified through nominations from artistic directors and other prominent theatre artists across the country. The artists that have been included are those of national recognition, those with considerable experience in a particular region, and emerging artists.

Joan Johnson (Emerita, Physical Education) has been selected as a 1996 member of the Intercollegiate Tennis Associations’ Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, VA. This is only the second year of the honor’s existence.

Ellen Kravitz (Music) was selected for the following: International Who’s Who in Music, 15th ed., 1996; Who’s Whoin the World, 12th ed., 1995-96; Who’s Who in America, 50th ed., 1996-97; Who’s Who in the West, 25th ed., 1996-97; Who’s Whoof American Women, 19th ed., 1995-96; elected Treasurer of Pacific Southwest Chapter of the American Musicological Society, Spring 1995 (2 year term 1995-97).

Craig Kupka (Theatre Arts and Dance) won Downbeat magazine’s award for Contributions to Jazz Education, 1995; was nominated for the Robert Runge Award for Excellence in Music Education, 1995; was selected for Who’s Who Among American Teachers, 1996; was nominated for a Bravo Award for Outstanding Arts Education by the Los Angeles Music Center Bravo Award Committee, Feb. 1996.

Linda Orozco Martisko (Administration and Counseling) was appointed as Associate Editor of CAPEA Journal (California Association of Professors of Educational Administration), effective Jan. 1996.

President James M. Rosser received the Almansor Center Take Charge of Learning Success Award at the Institute for the Redesign of Learning Gala Recognition Dinner, Los Angeles, CA, May 16, 1995 (also honored for their contributions to education were Jane Goodall, Delane Eastin, Paul Rodriguez and Sugar Ray Leonard); was recognized for the Los Angeles Urban League Volunteer Service Award at the Los Angeles Urban League Annual Membership Luncheon, Los Angeles, CA, Sept. 29, 1995; received the 1995 Diversity Conference Educator Achievement Award, National Science Foundation, Washington, DC, Sept. 23, 1995; was awarded the Watts Foundation Community Trust Education Award at the Birdell Chew Moore Scholarship Dinner, Century City, CA, Oct. 5, 1995; was appointed corporate secretary for Los Angeles Metropolitan Project, effective March 1995; was named chair of the National Science Foundation, Directorate of Education and Human Resources Advisory Committee, effective Nov. 1995.

Barbara Sinclair (Nursing) was appointed Editor-in-Chief of Capsules and Comments in Perinatal and Women’s Health Nursing. The inaugural edition was published Mar. 1995 by Mosby, Inc.