Student Honors

Student Honors

Student Athletes Take Top Honors

Sixteen Golden Eagle student athletes on CSLA’s
men’s and women’s track and field teams finished
in first place, sweeping the competition by an average of 40 points
at the 1996 CCAA Championship games in May. Student athletes Martha
and Tambi Wenj were named California Collegiate
Athletic Association 1996 Athletes of the Year.

Firsts, Seconds in CSU Research Competition

CSLA students took top awards at the CSU Student Research Conference, CSU Stanislaus, May 3-4, 1996. Ten CSLA students competed against 150 students from 20 campuses.
Winners were: First Place, Creative Arts and Design, Rick Vander
(Business Administration, Theatre Arts minor);
First Place, Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Robert Ramirez
(Chemistry); Second Place, Graduate, Behavioral
and Social Sciences, Anthony Ong (Psychology); and
Second Place, Graduate, Humanities and Letters, Leslie Clutterham
(Choral Conducting). Also participating were Tanya
(Psychology), Khushro Ghandhi (graduate-Accounting),
Rodolfo Castro (Art), Gary Summerville (graduate-Education),
Mario Mendoza (Electrical Engineering), and Andres
(Biochemistry). CSLA participants first qualified
by winning in their respective fields at the campuswide Fourth
Annual Symposia of Student Research, Scholarship, and Creative
Activity held in March.

Engineering Honors

The Institute for the Advancement of Engineering honored Kathleen Hansen (Mechanical
with its 1995-96 Outstanding Student Leadership
Award in April, 1996. Hansen was recognized for her outstanding
leadership as President of the CSLA student chapter of the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers, captain of the 1994-95 Mini-Baja
team and student team leader of the Solar Eagle III. The College
of Fellows of the Institute for the Advancement of Engineering
selected Reza Shirazi (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
as CSLA Outstanding Engineering Student. Shirazi, who was on the
Dean’s List for each of his three years, was also a peer
mentor for the University’s Summer Bridge program.

Students Win First Place With Off-Road Vehicle

Pitting their vehicle against a record-setting number of more than 70 off-road vehicles from
across the United States and Mexico, students comprising CSLA’s
Mini-Baja team recently took first place in a competition sponsored
by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Competing at “Mini-Baja
West” in Tempe, AZ, April 18-20, Cal State L.A.’s vehicle
finished ahead of those from Cal Poly Pomona, UC Irvine, Cal State
Fullerton, and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, among many others. Winning
team members are mechanical engineering majors Mark van Dalm
(student team leader), John Chang, Mark Fisher,
Hironao Hashimoto, Miguel Osorio, Jose Tlaxca,
Jose Lopez, Patrick Alvarado, Everardo Hernandez,
and technology major Stan Palmer. With faculty advisor
Lih-Min Hsia (Mechanical Engineering), they
have been working since July 1995 to prepare the vehicle for competition.

First Place Honors In Marketing

The 1995-96 academic year saw marketing
majors Harvey Bringas, Eric Rocha, Monica Victoria and
Erickson Yee receive first-place honors in the Promotional
Products and Target Marketing National Collegiate Competition
sponsored by the Promotional Products Association and the J.C.
Penney Company. The CSLA team’s “Run to JCPenney”
project was tied to the L.A. marathon. The students and faculty
advisor William A. Cohen (Marketing) were honored
at the PPA’s Winter Promotional Show in Dallas, TX. Their
awards included a cash prize for the Department of Marketing.

Modern Languages and Literatures

Gamma Psi, the local chapter of the Hispanic
Honor Society Sigma Delta Pi, has received the Certificate of
Honor and Merit for the academic year 1994-95, a distinction reserved
for the best chapters nationwide. Chapter officers are Spanish
majors Froylan Cabuto (president), Maria Soto
(vice president)
and Gabriela Lopez (secretary-treasurer).
Chapter adviser is Domnita Dumitrescu (Modern Languages
and Literatures)
. Student Iliana Alcantar won a Sigma
Delta Pi summer scholarship to study in Cuernavaca, Mexico at
the Center for Bilingual Multicultural Studies, Summer, 1996.
There have been only 14 such scholarships nationwide. On Mar.
7, 1996, sisters Ana-Lilia Lira, Maria-Elena Lira
and Martha Lira (Spanish), all honor students, were
presented with the Sigma Delta Pi Gabriela Mistral prize, usually
a single award presented to the outstanding graduate student who
is also an active chapter member.

Student Journalism Honors

Student journalists at the University Times garnered seven
awards from the Intercollegiate Press Association at its convention,
in Irvine, CA, Apr. 20-21. Hector Becerra (English)
was awarded Third Place, Best News Series; Second Place, Best
Arts and Entertainment Criticism, Movie Review; Honorable Mention,
Best Investigative Article; Honorable Mention, Best Editorial.
Dru Farnham (graduate - Music) received the award
for Second Place, Best Column; Rodney Rodriguez won Second
Place for Best Humor or Satirical Column; Kirby Lee was
awarded Third Place for Best Sports Photograph. Berkley Hudson
(Communication Studies) is the faculty advisor for
the University Times. In May, 1996, Hector Becerra was
one of only 12 students in the state to receive a Garcia Memorial
Scholarship, an award of $1,500, from the California Chicano News
Media Association.

Leadership Development Awards

Sean Lilly (graduate
- Public Administration)
was selected as one of only
35 participants out of 100 applicants who qualified nationwide,
in the Washington Center’s Summer Minority Leaders Fellowship
Program. The Washington Center, an independent, nonprofit educational
organization uses the resources of the nation’s capital to
enhance students’ academic, civic and professional development
and leadership through participatory learning experiences. CSLA
students are placed in the program through a collaboration of
Cal State L.A’s Pat Brown Institute for Public Affairs
and the Washington Center.

Dean’s List student Paul Zamorano-Reagin
(Political Science) was accepted into the two-week
Washington Center’s “Campaign ‘96: The National
Democratic Convention” program, held at the Democratic Party
National Convention, Chicago IL, Aug. 1996. The Center places
students as interns in the convention setting, where they also
attend academic seminars. He has also been accepted to the Washington
Center’s Fall Minority Leaders Fellowship Program in Washington,

Phi Kappa Phi Confers Honors on CSLA’s Best and Brightest

One hundred and ninety students and three professors were inducted
into the national honor society, Phi Kappa Phi, by the Cal State
L.A. chapter on May 5, 1996. Chapter president Raymond Garcia
(Chemistry and Biochemistry) officiated. Graduate fellowships
were awarded to Maruel M. Borja (Chemistry), Lawrence
(Political Science), and Mario Mendoza (Business
. Chapter Nominee was Roger M. Salish (Geography).
The Chapter Outstanding Freshman award went to Cristal Gama
(Biology). Alumnus Samuel Durrance, astronaut
and physicist, was the guest speaker. The CSLA chapter of Phi
Kappa Phi inducts superior students and scholars in all disciplines
at its yearly Spring banquet.