Honors and Appointments

Honors and Appointments

Barbara Clark (Center for Effective Teaching and Learning; Special Education) was awarded the President’s Award for Distinguished Service from the National Association for Gifted Children, Nov. 12, 1995; received the award for Distinguished and Continuing Contributions to Gifted Education from the California Association for the Gifted, Mar. 3, 1995.

Stephanie Evans (Educational Foundations and Interdivisional Studies) was Career Conference, Spring 1996.

Jeanine Gaucher-Morales (Modern Languages and Literatures) was honored at a Sigma Delta Pi awards banquet with the Order of the Discoverers, one of the national honor society’s highest distinctions and reserved for outstanding teachers and scholars in the field of Hispanism. Gaucher-Morales was the banquet’s keynote speaker, lecturing about folklore traditions in modern Latin-American poetry. At the same ceremony, Alfredo Morales, (Emeritus, Modern Languages and Literatures) was awarded a Certificate of Honor for his contributions to CSLA’s Teátro Universitário en Español and for his entire career as a professor and scholar in the field of Spanish American literature, Cal State L.A., Los Angeles, CA, March 7, 1996.

Frank A. Gomez (Chemistry and Biochemistry) was appointed an associate member of the American Chemical Society Minority Affairs Committee, effective 1996-present; appointed to The East Los Angeles Community Union (TELACU) Scholarship Committee, effective 1996-present.

José Cruz González (Theatre Arts and Dance) was selected to present his play for young audiences, The Highest Heaven, at the Kennedy Center’s New Visions/New Voices National Forum for Works-In-Progress, May 20-27, 1996, Washington, DC. He was one of eight playwrights in the nation selected for this honor.

Richard T. Keys (Chemistry and Biochemistry) has served as the secretary of the CSU Council of Computational Chemists during this past academic year. The term of office is September 1, 1995-September 1, 1996.

Ita Kreft (Educational Foundations and Interdivisional Studies) was selected, after a national search, as research consultant statistician for the National Household Expenditure Survey supported by the government of Malaysia. Information from the survey will be used for national health planning. Kreft was selected for this 10-week consultancy at the University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, on the basis of her expertise in multilevel modeling. Kreft was also named director of the newly-formed CSLA Program Evaluation and Research Collaborative (PERC), which provides program evaluation and research services to regional schools and agencies.

Robert Kully (Emeritus, Communication Studies) has accepted an appointment as the executive director of The California State University Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association (CSU – ERFA). The association, an incorporated nonprofit organization with over 2800 members, is the only statewide organization devoted exclusively to addressing the concerns of retired and soon to be retired CSU faculty. It is also the only multicampus retired faculty association in the United States. Its offices are on the CSU Northridge campus.

Rosemarie Marshall (Biology and Microbiology) was elected president of the Cal State L.A. Academic Senate for the 1996-97 academic year.

Caroline McManus (English) was one of 16 professors selected nationally to participate in the intensive 9-session NEH Institute “Shakespeare Examined Through Performance,” The Folger Shakespeare Library, Sep. 1995-May 1996, Washington, DC.

Kim Miller (Roybal Institute; Nursing) has been reappointed by Governor Wilson to the California Commission on Aging. Miller has served on the Commission since 1993. She is past chair of the board of directors for the Korean Health Education Information Referral Center and a member of the board of directors of California Council on Geriatrics and Gerontology. She is also a member of the American Society on Aging, Gerontological Society on Aging, and both the California and Korean Nurses Associations, and serves on the multicultural advisory committee for the Los Angeles Alzheimer Association. She is a volunteer with the Los Angeles Chapter of the Visiting Nurses Association. Miller, a registered nurse, earned her bachelor’s degree in nursing from Cal State L.A. in 1974.

Ron Morris (Physical Education) was selected to run with the Olympic torch in the historic relay leading to this year’s Olympic Games in Atlanta. Morris, who won the 1960 Silver Medal for pole vaulting at the XVII Olympiad in Rome, carried the flame through Dana Point, CA, Sun., Apr. 28, 1996.

Joe Soldate (Art) was appointed to the Advisory Board for the Flintridge Foundation in Pasadena, CA, for 1996-99.

John Thornbury (Library) was elected vice chair/chair-elect of the Music Library Association/Southern California Chapter for Jul. 1996-Jun. 1998, at the Spring meeting, USC Arnold Schoenberg Institute, May 17, 1996. He is currently serving on the MLA/SCC Executive Board as member-at-large and membership chair.

Cindy Yee (Charter School of Education, Student Services) has been selected a 1996 “Woman of Distinction” honoree for the 24th California Senatorial District. The citation from Senator Hilda L. Solis reads, in part, that this special tribute is given “to women . . . who have been making history and giving tirelessly of themselves for many years.”