CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs

ACADEMIC SENATE, STUDENT POLICY COMMITTEE

October 26, 2006, 1:30 - 3:10 p.m., SA 110

MINUTES

Present: P. Chen, J. Hong, M. Javeri, L. Lugo, A. Ross, O. Silva, V. Talavera-Bustillos,

C. Uyeki, L. Whitcomb, A. Reed, S. Terebey

Excused: J. Kennedy, G. Washington

Guest: C. Kaufman

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by C. Uyeki, Vice Chair, at 1:39 p.m.

- 2. <u>Time Certain C. Kaufman, Assistant Director, Internet Technology</u> Presentation on the "MY CSULA"
- 3. Announcements
 - 3.1. Your Voice Your Vote Brochure distributed
 - 3.2. Quality Service Committee Update
- 4. Approval of the Agenda

M/S/P approval of agenda as amended.

5. Intent to Raise Questions

None.

6. Approval of the Minutes of the Meeting of October 12, 2006

M/S/P approval of minutes as amended.

- 7. Liaison Reports
 - 7.1. Executive Committee Liaison

L. Whitcomb, reported on the Accessible Technology Initiative and concerns faculty have regarding their participation. A. Ross provided the committee with an update. The team members were recently charged with creating implementation committees.

A. Ross will update the Committee on a regular basis.

Clarification was sought on the process for developing the Freedom of Speech policy that was forwarded to the committee from the Executive Committee. Following a discussion it was determined that the process will be for the Student Policy Committee to wait for a draft from the administrative team (including Anthony Ross, Gregg King,

Victor King, Kevin Brady, David Godoy, Intef Weser and Joseph Aguirre). Student Policy Committee will then revise as necessary and forward the document through the Academic Senate. A. Ross said a draft should be available at our next meeting.

7.2. Academic Advisement Subcommittee

M. Javeri reported on the subcommittee's work on establishing criteria for the Award for Excellence in Advising Award. The first draft may be shared at the next Student Policy Committee.

8. Adjournment

M/s/p to adjourn at 3:07 p.m.