



DATE: February 12, 2018

TO: Faculty Policy Committee

FROM: Sharon Ulanoff, Chair, Faculty Policy Committee

COPIES: L. Mahoney, V. Prabhu

SUBJECT: NOTICE AND AGENDA FOR THE FPC MEETING – February 12, 2018

The next meeting of the Faculty Policy Committee will be held on:

Monday, February 19, 2018 1:40 p.m. to 2:55 p.m.

ADM 313

- Call to Order
- 2. Announcements
- 3. Intent to Raise Questions
- 4. Approval of Agenda
- 5. Approval of the Minutes from 1-29-18 and 2-5-18 meeting
- 6. Report from the Executive Committee Liaison
- 7. Faculty Policy Committee Documents on the Floor of the Academic Senate
- 8. Consent Agenda (Editorial Changes)
 - a) Evaluation of Temporary Counselor Faculty (FPC 17-10)
 - b) Evaluation of Temporary Instructional Faculty (FPC 17-11)
 - c) Leave of Absence with Pay (FPC 17-12)
 - d) Personnel Committees (FPC 17-13)
 - e) Reduced Worktime Program (FPC 17-14)
 - f) Student Input in Academic Personnel Processes (FPC 17-15)
 - g) Temporary Full-time and Part-time Faculty (Lecturers) (FPC 17-16)
- 9. Peer Observations of Instructions (FPC 17-6.5)
- 10. The Institutional Review Board (FPC 17-9)
- 11. Quarter Language Changes
 - A. Material Changes
 - i. Calendar (FPC 17-17)
 - ii. Incompatible Activities (FPC 17-18)
 - iii. Volunteer Faculty (FPC 17-19)
 - B. Policies for Removal
 - i. The Academic Year (FPC 17-20)
 - ii. Teaching Assignments (FPC 17-21)
 - iii. Teaching an Extra Quarter Assignment (FPC 17-22)

- iv. Guidelines for the Administration of the Distinguished Visiting Professors Program (FPC 17-23)
- 12. Student Input in Academic Personnel Processes (FPC 17-8)
- 13. Student Opinion Surveys for Online Courses (FPC 17-3)
- 14. Academic Freedom and Professional Ethics Committee (FPC 11-7.1)
- 15. Adjournment

DISTRIBUTION:

L. Bermudez (A&L)
A. Avramchuk (B&E)
S. Ulanoff (CCOE)
Vacant (ECST)
A. Tailakh (HHS)

T. Gwekwerere (NSS)
J. Garrison (NSS)
Vacant (LSA)

Vacant (ASI Undergrad Rep) W. Hess (ASI Grad Rep) Vacant (Nominations Committee)
J. Dennis (Nominations Committee)
H. Riggio (Executive Committee Liaison)
M. Caldwell (Executive Secretary)