CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ASM 17-1 ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES APPROVED AUGUST 29, 2017 May 9, 2017 Chair Prabhu convened the meeting at 1:43 p.m. The Chair's Announcements **ANNOUNCEMENTS** 1. Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2017-18 Academic Senate. I would like to extend a warm welcome to our newly elected Senators and thank our continuing Senators for their service. Will the new Senators please stand and be recognized. 2. It was m/s/p (Baaske) to approve the agenda. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA 3. 3.1 Chair Prabhu reported to the body the Academic Senate meeting dates and times for ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND 2017-18 and reviewed the responsibilities of the Executive Committee Officers and MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE at-large members. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3.2 Veena Prabhu (Management) was elected by acclamation Chair of the Academic Senate for 2017-18. 3.3 Cari Flint (Communication Disorders) was elected by acclamation Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2017-18. 3.4 Kevin Baaske (Communication Studies) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2017-18. 3.4 Emily Acevedo (Political Science), James Hatfield (Music, Theatre and Dance), Anthony Hernandez (Applied and Advanced Studies in Education), and Heidi Riggio (Psychology) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2017-18.

4. It was m/s/p (Riggio) to adjourn at 1:57 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT