CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSTIY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES June 1, 2010

ASM 10-1 Approved October 12, 2010

R. Abbott, M. Abed, O. Aina, E. Hernandez, T. Kim, M. Tufenkjian

**ABSENT** 

C. Blaszczynski, C. Flint, P. Romero, A. Russo-Neustadt, M. Siler

**EXCUSED ABSENCE** 

Chair R. Land convened the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

The Chair's Announcements:

INTRODUCTION OF NEW **SENATORS** 

Welcome to the organizational meeting of the 2010-2011 Academic Senate. I would like to take this opportunity to introduce the newly elected Senators for 2010-2011: Jeffrey Benedict, Samantha Carrington, Taewon Kim, Olaiya Aina, Russell Abbott, Mark Tufenkjian, Valentine Villa, Beth Baker-Cristales, Krishna Foster, Romelia Salinas, and Nancy Hunt.

APROVAL OF THE AGENDA

2. It was m/s/p (Baaske) to approve the agenda.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF THE **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE** 

- 3.1 Nancy Hunt (Special Education and Counseling) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2010-2011.
  - 3.2 Steven Classen (Communication Studies) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2010-2011.
  - 3.3 Cari Flint (Communication Disorders) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2010-2011.
  - 3.4 Rita Ledesma (Social Work), Michael Soldatenko (Chicano Studies), Theodore Bell (Psychology), and Sharon Ulanoff (Curriculum and Instruction) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2010-2011.
- It was m/s/p (Hunt) to adjourn at 2: 07 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT