CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES May 22, 2007 ASM 06-18 Approved May 29, 2007

T. Bell, M. Im, L. Judson, C. Khachikian, K. King, D. Lee, K. Persiani-Becker, T. Salmassi, L. Taiz

ABSENT

J. Benedict, A. Kawakami, H. K. Moo-Young, T. Omidsalar, M. Zepeda

EXCUSED ABSENCE

K. Baaske convened the meeting at 1:36 p.m.

1. 1.1 The Chair's Announcements:

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1.1.1 On May 11, 2007, President Rosser approved the following Senate recommendations effective Summer Quarter, 2007:
 - Proposed policy modification: Acceptable Employment Levels of Part-Time Faculty, Faculty Handbook, Chapter VI
 - Proposed policy modification: Repeating Courses, <u>Faculty Handbook</u>, Chapter IV
 - Proposed policy modification: Undergraduate Credit for Graduate Courses, <u>Faculty Handbook</u>, Chapter IV, and
 - Proposed policy deletion: Guidelines for Technologically Mediated Courses, <u>Faculty Handbook</u>, Appendix K.
- 1.1.2 Following is the response from Vice President Button to the question raised by Senator Gutierrez at the Senate meeting on April 17, 2007:

Ouestion:

Why do we terminate student and members' email immediately on separation and miss that opportunity to keep them as donors as other universities do?

Response:

E-mail accounts of students who do not meet the requirements for continuing student status or who graduate, and e-mail accounts of faculty and staff who separate from the University, do not remain active in accord with University policy. We make every effort to remain in contact with these members of the University community through the advancement data system, Cal State L.A. Today, the Alumni Association, etc.

- 1.1.3 I would like to remind everyone that the Ninth Annual Distinguished Women Awards will be held this afternoon at 3:00 to 4:30 p.m. in the Golden Eagle Ballroom. Awards will be presented to: Donna Balderrama, Fary M. Cachelin, Evelyn Calvillo, Jennifer Celaya Davis, Krishna L. Foster, Rebecca Hopkins, Nancy A. Hunt, Alejandra Marchevsky, Lili H. Tabrizi, and Lillian Taiz.
- 1.1.4 Members of the Executive Committee are requested to meet today at the front of the room immediately following the Senate meeting
- 1.2 The Vice Chairs Announcements:

The following faculty members have accepted appointment by the Nominations Committee to serve on the Committees indicated:

- Daniel Borough (Geography) Student Policy Committee, three-year term ending 2010
- Marcel Soriano (Special Education and Counseling) Committee on Academic Freedom and Professional Ethics, five-year term ending 2012
- Alicia Izquierdo-Edler (Psychology) Alcohol and Drug Awareness

ANNOUNCEMENTS (Continued)

- Committee, three-year term ending 2010
- Shiz Herrera (Theatre Arts and Dance) Campus Physical Planning Committee, three-year term ending 2010
- Mark Goodrich (Music) Communications Board, three-year term ending 2010
- Deborah Schaeffer (Library) University Student Union Board, two-year term ending 2009
- Rennie Schoepflin (History) The CSULA Foundation Board of Directors, three-year term ending 2010
- Paul Narguizian (Curriculum and Instruction) CSU Forgivable Loan and Doctoral Incentive Program, three-year term ending 2010
- Lia Kamhi-Stein (Advanced and Applied Studies in Education), Philip LaPolt (Biology), Carole Srole (History), Carol Blaszczynski (Information Systems) and Caroline McManus (English) – Outstanding Professor Award Selection Committee, one-year terms ending 2008
- Daniel Borough (Geography) Instructionally Related Activities Advisory Board, three-year term ending 2010
- Debasre Raychaudhuri (Mathematics) Space Management Subcommittee, three-year term ending 2010
- Ming Wang (Nursing) and Alison McCurdy (Chemistry and Biochemistry) Student Educational Equity Advisory Committee to the Vice President for Student Affairs, three-year terms ending 2010
- Heidi Riggio (Psychology) and Sharon Ulanoff (Curriculum and Instruction)
 Institutional Review Board-Human Subjects, four-year terms ending 2011
- Jay Zhong (Music), Ik-suk Kim (Marketing) and Ann-Luu Huyn-Hohnbaum (Social Work) Honors Convocation and Commencement Committee, two year terms ending 2009.
- 1.3 Senator Beer announced: I have some good news and some bad news. I'll start with the bad news. On the weekend of the thirteenth when we hosted the NCAA Baseball Championship Tournament we lost two games. Last weekend we hosted the NCAA Division II West Region Baseball Championship and we won. It is the first regional championship we have won and it is the first time we hosted a Division II regional championship. The team is on its way to the NCAA Division II Championship this Friday in Montgomery, Alabama.
- 1.4 Senator Hunt announced: You may have read in the news about the Winkelman vs. Parma case and the supreme court ruling in favor of the parents of a child with disabilities and their right to defend their child in court without a lawyer. I am telling you this because the lawyer who successfully argued the case is the son of our colleague and beloved Senator Lois Andre Bechely; her son is Jean-Claude Andre.
- 1.5 Senator Dewey announced. Gigi Gaucher-Morales, Emeritus faculty member in the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, died last Sunday of a heart attack.
- 2. None.
- 3. It was m/s/p (Garcia) to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 8, 2007 (ASM 06-17).
- 4. It was m/s/p (Schaeffer) to approve the agenda.

INTENT TO RAISE QUESTIONS

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

ASM 06-18 May 22, 2007 Page 3

Statewide Senators Baaske and Cates presented a report of the Statewide Senate meeting held on May 10-11, 2007. A question and answer period followed.

REPORT OF THE STATEWIDE SENATE MEETING: May 10-11, 2007

6.1 The Background/Timelines for the Accessible Technology Initiative were presented by Peter Quan, Vice President for Information Technology Services and Chief Technology Officer, and Anthony Ross, Vice President for Student Affairs.

ACCESSIBLE TECHNOLOGY INTIATIVE PRESENTATION

- 6.2 The Web Accessibility Implementation Plan was presented by Gayle Burns, Director, Faculty Instructional Support Center (FITSC), and Robert Stark Acting Director, CMS and Enterprise Systems.
- 6.3 The Instructional Materials Accessibility part of the initiative was Mary Falvey, Dean, Charter College of Education and Ramakrishnan Menon, Director for Faculty Development and Pedagogical Support.
- 6.4 The Accessible Electronic and Information Technology Procurement Plan (E&IT) was presented by Thomas Johnson, Director, Procurement and Contracts.
- 6.5 A question and answer period took place.
- The election was held.

INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETICS **BOARD: ELECTION OF ONE** FEMALE MEMBER, TERM

ENDING 2011

The election was held.

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE: ELECTION OF TWO MEMBERS -ONE REPRESENTING THE COLLEGE OF ARTS AND LETTERS AND ONE REPRE-SENTING THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING, COMPUTER SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY, **TERMS ENDING 2010**

K. Baaske, M. Cates, J. Moss and P. LaPolt presented a report on the Access to Excellence Summit meeting held on April 24-25, 2007.

ACCESS TO EXCECLLENCE SUMMIT MEETING: APRIL 24-25, 2007

It was m/s/p (Falvey) to adjourn at 3:18 p.m. 10.

ADJOURNMENT