	I
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES June 3, 2003 http://www.calstatela.edu/academic/senate	ASM 02-21 Approved July 1, 2003
M. Balaguer, J. Benedict, C. Gutierrez, G. T. Haight, P. Hechler, C. Liu, M. Maki, D. Mayo M. Mohanty, A. Mori, S. Nickoliasen, A. Ponce, M. Roden, C. Selkin, A. Shin, A. Soto, C. Taylor, K. Tsai, R. Vellanoweth	ABSENT
M. Diaz	EXCUSED ABSENCE
J. T. Anagnoson convened the meeting at 2:03 p.m.	
1. 1.1 The Chair's Announcements:	ANNOUNCEMENTS
This being the last meeting of the Spring Quarter, I would like to take this opportunity to thank those Senators who have served on the Senate this year who will not be returning in the Fall: Mark Balaguer, Kevin Baaske, Blair Berkley, Madhu Mohanty, Clint Taylor, Charles Liu, David Mayo, Stewart Venit, Barry Hibbs, Oscar Bernal, Konrad Aniol, and Steve LaDochy.	
1.2 Vice Chair's Announcements: The Committee on Committees has appointed faculty members to serve on the following committees:	
Educational Policy Committee – term ending 2006 Beverly Krilowicz (Biological Sciences)	
Faculty Policy Committee – term ending 2006 Alfred Bendixen (English)	
Student Policy Committee – term ending 2006 Margaret Clark (Special Education)	
Institutional Review Board – Human Subjects – terms ending 2007 Kayley Vernallis (Philosophy) Sharon Ulanoff (Curriculum & Instruction)	
University Invention and Patent Evaluation Committee – term ending 2006 Simeon Slovacek (Educational Foundation & Interdivisional Studies)	
Academic Freedom and Professional Ethics – term ending 2008 Russell Abbott (Computer Science)	
Alcohol and Drug Awareness Committee – term ending 2006 Siyon Rhee (Social Work)	
Instructionally Related Activities Advisory Committee – term ending 2006 Deborah Holland (Music)	
Resource Allocation Advisory Committee – term ending 2006 Russell Abbott (Computer Science)	
Student Educational Equity Advisory Committee to the Vice President for Student Affairs – terms ending 2006 Ralph Dawson (Counseling) Lawson Bush (Administration & Counseling) Jai Hong (Technology) Dionne Espinoza (Chicano Studies) – 2004	
Outstanding Professor Awards Selection Committee – terms ending 2004 Alan Bloom (Communication Studies) Roberto Cantu (Chicano Studies) David Connors (Music) ChorSwang Ngin (Anthropology) Carole Srole (History)	

ASM 02-21 June 3, 2003 Page 2	
INTENT TO RAISE QUESTIONS	 2. 2.1 Senator Zepeda announced her intent to raise the following question of the Vice President for Administration and Finance:
	On November 12, 2002, I asked about the absence of tampon dispensers in the King Hall women's restrooms. Basically, I asked why there were no dispensers in this building and whether there would be any plans to install them? As we are now at the end of the Spring quarter, I was wondering when a response might be forthcoming?
	2.2 Senator Herrera announced her intent to raise the following question:
	It is my understanding that there have been proposed changes to the University Student Grievance Procedures and it has been sent up to the campus attorney and I have been asked by Michael Fels to find out where it is at this time? Has it been cleared by the attorney? Where is it?
APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES	3. It was m/s/p (Koch) to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 20, 2003 (ASM 01-20).
APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA	4. It was m/s/p (Garcia) to approve the agenda.
COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES – ELECTION OF TWO MEMBERS: ONE REPRESENTING THE CHARTER COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND ONE REPRESENTING THE COLLEGE OF NATURAL AND SOCIAL SCIENCES	5. The election was held.
ELECTION OF SUMMER QUARTER ALTERNATES FOR THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	 6.1 Kevin Baaske (Communication Studies) was elected Chair of the Academic Academic Senate for Summer Quarter, 2003.
	6.2 Christine Givner (Special Education) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for Summer Quarter, 2003.
	6.3 Deborah Schaeffer (Library) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for Summer Quarter, 2003
	6.4 Gregory Andranovich (Political Science), Theodore Bell (Communication Disorders), Donald Dewey (Emeriti), and Mary Diaz (Counseling) have been elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for Summer Quarter, 2003.
ADJOURNMENT	7. It was m/s/p (Hunt) to adjourn at 2:22 p.m.