CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES February 18, 2003	ASM 02-11 Approved March 4, 2003
http://www.calstatela.edu/academic/senate	
K. Aniol, S. Bowman, G. T. Haight, C. Selkin, C. Taylor, K. W. Tsai, L. Whitcomb	ABSENT
G. Beer, P. Hechler, A. Mori, S. Nickoliasen, V. Seaman, L. Taiz, S. Venit	EXCUSED ABSENCE
S. Albert, E. Darrough, W. Darrough, D. Dewey, J. Fisher-Hoult, R. Fowells, M. Friedman, M. Gormly, J. Hoyt, J. Johnson, K. Johnson, L. Mathy, F. O'Bannon-Lemmmi, J. Rathbun, M. Ross, A. Sandler, J. Schnitzler, L. Schwartz, B. Sinclair, F. Stahl, O. Termini	EMERITI
T. Anagnoson convened the meeting at 1:41 p.m.	
1. 1.1 The Chair's Announcements:	ANNOUNCEMENTS
1.1.1 As noted on today's agenda, the President's "State of the University" address previously scheduled for this time has been rescheduled to April 8 <sup>th</sup> (the second week of Spring quarter) because of the continued uncertainty over this year's budget.	
1.1.2 The Senate will be electing four faculty members to serve on the Ad Hoc Advisory Selection Committee for the Dean of Educational Support Services. The following faculty members have accepted nomination by the Committee on Committees to have their name appear on the ballot for election to the committee: Nandakumar Ganesan (Information Systems), Fernando Hernandez (Educational Foundations & Interdivisional Studies), Stephen Sottong (Library), Ed Forde (Art), David Connors (Music), Vladimir Akis (Computer Science), Beryl Bellman (Communication Studies), Deborah Schaeffer (Library). A petition notice for additional nominations will be distributed to all faculty with a deadline date of Thursday, February 27 <sup>th</sup> . The election will be held at the Senate meeting on March 4 <sup>th</sup> .	
1.1.3 I have been informed by the ASI Vice President for Academic Governance that Wariesi Flores has resigned from her position as Undergraduate Student Senator due to a heavy academic load.	
1.1.2 The Senate probably will not be meeting next week, so our next scheduled meeting will most likely be on March 4 <sup>th</sup> .	
1.2 The Vice Chair's Announcements:	
1.2.1 Susan Mason (Theatre Arts and Dance) has accepted the appointment by Committee on Committees to assume the remainder of Killian Ying's term ending Summer 2003 on the Educational Policy Committee.	
1.2.2 Anthony Cox (Communication Studies) has accepted the appointment by Committee on Committees to assume the remainder of Jennifer Bay's term ending Summer 2003 on the Communications Board.	
1.2.3 The 2002-2003 University Committee Service Survey was distributed on Monday, February 10, 2003. Please fill out the survey and mail the completed form to the Academic Senate Office. You can also access the survey form in the Microsoft Public Folders under Academic Senate.	
2. Senator Monroy announced his intent to raise the following question of the Vice President for Administration and Finance:	INTENT TO RAISE QUESTIONS
My question is who is in charge of the parking ticket dispensers? Last week many students waited in the rain only to find that they were waiting for a parking ticket dispenser that was not working. How often are the dispensers maintained and who is responsible when they need repairs?	

ASM 02-11 February 18, 2003 Page 2				
WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION OF EMERITI	3.	<ol> <li>The following members of the CSULA Emeriti Faculty Association were introduced: S. Albert, E. Darrough, W. Darrough, D. Dewey, J. Fisher-Hoult, R. Fowells, M. Friedman, M. Gormly, J. Hoyt, J. Johnson, K. Johnson, L. Mathy, F. O'Bannon- Lemmmi, J. Rathbun, M. Ross, A. Sandler, J. Schnitzler, L. Schwartz, B. Sinclair, F. Stahl, O. Termini.</li> </ol>		
APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES	4.	4. It was m/s/p (Schaeffer) to approve the minutes of the meeting of February 4, 2003 (ASM 02-10).		
APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA	4.	4. It was m/s/p (Garcia) to approve the agenda.		
RESOLUTION OF COMMENDATION FOR THE EMERITI ASSOCIATION	5.	5. It was m/s/p (unanimously) (Anagnoson) to approve the following Resolution of Commendation for the Emeriti Association:		
		WHEREAS	The Emeriti Association of California State University, Los Angeles, was established on February 9, 1978; and	
		WHEREAS	The Cal State L.A. Emeriti Association was the first to be established within the California State University; and	
		WHEREAS	The Emeriti Association has successfully encouraged members to continue contributing to the University through their scholarly endeavors and advice at all levels of governance regarding issues where their perspective is of unique value; and	
		WHEREAS	The Emeriti Association, through its publications and other activities, labors to secure and enhance the status and rights of retired faculty and to inform and assist other faculty in their transition to retirement; and	
		WHEREAS	The Emeriti Association has established and continues to fund and support endowed fellowships for outstanding students in a variety of disciplines; and	
		WHEREAS	Dr. Sidney Albert was the moving force in establishing the Emeriti Association of California State University, Los Angeles, as well as the California State University Emeriti and Retired Faculty Association (CSU-ERFA), which recognized its 15 <sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2001; therefore be it	
		RESOLVED	That the Academic Senate of California State University, Los Angeles, honor the members of The Emeriti Association of California State University, Los Angeles on the occasion of its 25 <sup>th</sup> anniversary and extend thanks and deep appreciation to Dr. Albert for his efforts.	
PROPOSED POLICY MODIFICATION: THE STUDENT OPINION SURVEY ON INSTRUCTION, <u>FACULTY HAND-</u> <u>BOOK</u> , CHAPTER 5 (02-10, -10.1) <i>First-Reading</i>	6.	<ul><li>6. 6.1 It was m/s (Garcia) to approve the recommendation (02-10).</li><li>6.2 It was m/s/p (Garcia) to extend the time for questions for five minutes.</li></ul>		
ADJOURNMENT	7.	It was m/s/p (H	Hamera) to adjourn at 2:17 p.m.	