	1
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LOS ANGELES ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES June 4, 2002 <u>http://www.calstatela.edu/academic/senate</u>	ASM 02-1 Approved July 2, 2002
E. Anderson, K. Aniol, M. Balaguer, G. Beer, B. Berkley, O. Bernal, A. Bhaumik, G. Haight, P. Hechler, B. Hibbs, K. Hsu, C. Liu, M. Maki, K. Selkin, L. Taiz, K. Tsai, S. Venit	ABSENT
D. Margaziotis, A. Mori	EXCUSED ABSENCE
W. Taylor convened the meeting 1:44 p.m.	
1. Introduction of New Senators:	INTRODUCTION OF NEW SENATORS
Welcome to the organizational meeting for the 2002-2003 Academic Senate. I would like to take this opportunity to introduce the newly elected, re-elected and one-year alternate Senators who have been invited to today's meeting:	
<ul> <li>Arts and Letters – Kevin Baaske, Gretchen Angelo and John Cleman (Senator Cleman is in class and can not be here today)</li> <li>Education – Cherie DeJong Hawley and Diane Klein (Senator Klein has in-service training and can not be here today)</li> <li>Engineering, Computer Science, and Technology – Charles Liu and Anjan Bhaumik</li> <li>Natural and Social Sciences – Stewart Venit, Barry Hibbs, Konrad Aniol, Scott Nickolaisen, Oscar Bernal, and Robert Vellanoweth</li> <li>Division of Administration, Library and Student Affairs – Deborah Schaeffer</li> <li>Emeritus Senator – Donald Dewey</li> </ul>	
2. It was m/s/p (Garcia) to approve the agenda.	APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA
3. 3.1 Theodore Anagnoson (Political Science) was elected Chair of the Academic Senate for 2002-2003.	
3.2 Raymond Garcia (Chemistry and Biochemistry) was elected Vice Chair of the Academic Senate for 2002-2003.	
<ol> <li>3.3 Nancy Hunt (Special Education) was elected Secretary of the Academic Senate for 2002- 2003.</li> </ol>	
3.4 Kevin Baaske (Communication Studies), John Cleman (English), Nadine Koch (Political Science) and Marlene Zepeda (Child and Family Studies) were elected to serve as members-at-large of the Executive Committee for 2002-2003.	
4. It was m/s/p (Zepeda) to adjourn at 2:12 p.m.	ADJOURNMENT