Jacobo M. Patlán Memorial Scholarship

Since 1982, the Jacobo M. Patlán Foundation has recognized Cal State LA students who demonstrate academic excellence and commitment to the improvement of health care delivery services to Hispanic communities. The award is to be used to defray educational expenses of student enrolled in a pre-health curriculum.

Eligibility: The applicant must be enrolled a the junior, senior, or graduate level or as a post-baccalaureate or extnsion student at California State University, Los Angeles at the time of the award. They must apply through the Cal State LA Scholarship system and be able to demonstrate a service to the Hispanic community. The scholarship supports those whose career objectives include but are not limited to: medicine, optometry, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, podiatry, public health, chiropractic care, etc. Although the award amount may change from year to year, on average it is $1,000.

To apply to this scholarship please apply through our Cal State LA Scholarship System. Only one application is needed for multiple opportunities. Applications are available to current Cal State LA students 24/7 during the application period: March 6 – March 28, 2018.

Who was Jacobo M. Patlán? Jacobo or Jake was a student at Cal State LA from 1978-1981. He was a chemistry major who did research in Dr. Anthony Fratiello's laboratory. He was also part of the MBS Program (which became the MBRS-RISE) under the MORE Programs.  It was his last spring quarter during finals week before he would be heading off to UCSF Dental School, when he was involved in a hit and run very late a night after he had finished studying for his finals.  Jake was walking to the call box (before cell phones) for his car which broke down on the 710 freeway.  His friends and family with the help of Dr. Fratiello and President James M. Rosser (president of Cal State LA from 1979-2013) started this scholarship.

Board of Directors:

Executive Directors: ……Servando Patlán, Sr., Bertha M. Patlán, Orquidea M. Patlán 

Gilbert Barajas, D.D.S., Alfonso Barba, M.D., Anthony Fratiello, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, Cal State LA, Lorenzo J. Garcia, LAUSD Administrator, Raymond E. Garcia, Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry, Cal State LA, Carlos G. Gutierrez, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, Cal State LA, Cecilia Zurita-Lopez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Cal State LA, Vicki Kubo-Anderson, M.S., Lecturer, Chemistry, Cal State LA.

How does the committe select a scholarship winner? Once you apply through the Cal State LA Scholarship system, special filters consistent with the will of the donors of the Patlán Foundation are applied so that an appropriate pool of candidates can be identified. The Patlán Selection Committee will then request that this pool of applicants complete the secondary application which includes the following questions:

  1. What is your career goal?
  2. Why did you select this particular professional goal, and why do you think you will be good at it?
  3. Describe your involvement in activities which demonstrate your commitment to the improvement of health care delivery services to the Hispanic community.
  4. Provide a brief autobiographical sketch which includes the following:  An indication of whether or not your grades reflect your academic background; a discussion of your likelihood for success in a health-related career; and a description of any difficulties (e.g. lack of access to educational facilities, materials, or counseling; financial problems; poor quality of instruction; health) you had to overcome to meet your educational goals.

Respondents will constitute the pool from which the Patlán recipients, if any, will be selected. This selection process is conducted within the normal selection calendar established by the university.

What happens if you win this scholarship? Congratulations! If you were selected, not only do you exhibit commitment to service to the Hispanic community within the health professions, but you also share the human qualities of Jacobo (Jake) Patlán. The Jacobo Patlán Memorial Scholarship Board of Directors is interested not only in financially assisting you, we also want to establish a relationship with you! You will receive notification and will be invited to a special dinner in your honor and to celebrate the life of Jacobo (Jake) Patlán.

Recipients Where are they now?


Priscilla Soria Ritchie

Leonel Apodaca



Eduardo Rene Acosta

Luis Felipe Soria



Martha Sanchez

Patricia Urbina



Ruben Armienta

Colleen Marie Baron



Diamelba Molina

Rodrigo Javier Rocha



Lilian Rosario Galicia

Carlos Tamayo



Armando Pacheco

Daniel Sanchez



Todd Bolinger

Carolina Vazquez



Anthony Mark Gonzales

Milagro del Carmen Escobar



Arleen Gell

Jason Philip Lujan

Arthur Venegas



Ana Bertha Ramos

Hector Manuel Ramos



Jose Manuel Garcia

Victoria Marie Reyes



Manuel Duron

Evelyn Vega



Lawrence Anthony Ramirez

Eduardo Bolanos Lopez



Edgar Antonio Enriquez

Maria Rosario Sanchez



Lourdes Gonzalez

Steven Paul Santoyo



Sally Esquivel

Milagro Dolores Ramos



Yolanda Gonzalez

Rosalinda Martin



Rachel Bailon

Remedios Amigon



Jonnie Loraine Burton



Eddie Lares



Luis S. Sanchez



Antonio De La Luz Heras

Raymond Chock Quon



Dinora Beatriz Chinchilla



Ruth Elizabeth Montes

Anna Elvira Muñoz



Janet Maya

Carla Alejandra Spades



Feliciano Lopez

Toni Ann Riveros



Jessica Ponce

Raquel Ventura



Graciela Carabes



Hector M. Valadez



Maria Ortega



Hector M. Carmona



Ethan Min Chen

Juan Rodriguez



Albert Chang

Brenda Beltran