Chemistry & Biochemistry Seminars

Seminars –Fall 2018 - Subject to Changes and Updates

PRESENTED AT noon. Location: BIOS 334

 

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

No Seminar

 

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Microbial Photo-Assisted Energy Conversion for Hydrogy Generation and Wastewaster Treatment

Professor Jing Gu, San Diego State

 

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Cyclotides as potential drug design scaffolds

Mario Pizarro Rojas, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Bioinspired Design of Conductive Peptide Nanofibers

Professor Allon Hochbaum, UC Irvine

 

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

TBD

Open

 

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

How Do Enzymes Work? Combining Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry to Investigate Cholinesterase Inhibition and Enzyme Function

Professor Jason Schwans, California State University, Long Beach

 

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Pedagogical Approaches for Promoting Core Understanding in General Chemistry Courses

Dianna Kim, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Effects of Beta-Alanine Supplementation on Muscle Carnosine and Exercise

Natalia Neris, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

TBA

Johanna Bautista, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Materials in 2D: Synthesis, Properties, and Devices

Professor Joshua Robinson, Penn State University

 

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

TBA

Open

 

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

TBA

Don Scotton, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

TBA

Shane Matta, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Fall Recess, no seminar

 

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

The Subtleties of Divalent Ion Chemistry for Next-Generation Batteries

Professor Kimberly See, Caltech

 

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

The Blood Brain Barrier

Shaanti Trikha, California State University, Los Angeles