Group Choice

Overview

The Group Choice module allows students to enroll themselves in a group within a course. The teacher can select which groups students can chose from and the maximum number of students allowed in each group.

Why Use Group Choice?

Group Project Management: Group Choice is a great tool for students to work within a group on a project. This provides the students with the ability to choose their own groupmates or an assignment that they are interested in. This will give them the independence to manage their own group projects.

How to Create Group Choice

Important: There must first be Groups already created in your course for Group Choice to work. Please refer to our Groups page for instructions on how to create groups.

  1. Log in to your Moodle account.
  2. Click Turn editing on.
  3. Scroll to the section where you want the Group Choice tool placed.
  4. Click Add an activity or resource.
  5. Select Group choice.
  6. Click Add.

You will then be taken to the set up page for your Group choice.

  1. Enter in the Name of your Wiki.
  2. Enter in the Description.

 

Editing Groups in Group Choice

Under the Groups category, you can manage (Add or Remove) your Groups. Double click on a group to add it, and double click on a grouping to expand/collapse it individually. There are two boxes, Available Groups and Selected Groups, in which you can edit your Groups: 

  • Available Groups box: You can view the current available groups. You can also either add or remove these groups using the Add Group or Remove Group button.
  • Selected Groups box: You can change the student number limit for a specific group. You first must double click on the group you want to select under Available Groups for the specific group to appear under Selected Groups. Then, you can click on the specific group under Selected Groups and on the right, you can input the numeral limit.
  • Sort Group By: There are different options that you can select to categorize your groups. There are three different options.
    • System Default: The system default is to organize groups by the Group creation date.
    • Name: This categorizes groups by name.

 

Allowing Enrollment in Multiple Groups

This option, if checked, will allow students to enroll themselves within multiple groups. Follow the instructions below to allow enrollment in multiple groups:

  1. Log in to your course.
  2. Find and click on the Group Choice, and select Edit settings underneath the Group Choice Administration block.
  3. Under Miscellaneous settings, check the Allow enrollment to multiple groups option.
  4. Click on Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

 

Changing Privacy of Results

Using the Publish results and Privacy of results options, you can affect whether students can see the results and/or each others' choices.

Publish results: This affects whether and how students can see the results of Group Choice. The options for this include:

  • Do not publish results to students: Students will not be able to see any results.
  • Show results to students after they answer: Students will see results after they have made their choice and answered.
  • Show results to students only after the choice is closed: Students will see results after the Group Choice is closed.
  • Always show results to students: Students will be able to see results before, during, and after they make their choice.

Privacy of results: This affects the privacy of the choices and whether students can see each other students' names. The options include:

  • Publish anonymous results, do not show student names: Students will not be able to see other students’ names. They should be able to see the numbers within each choice.
  • Publish full results, showing names and their choices: Students will be able to see each others’ names and choices.

 

Allowing Choice to be Updated

This option, if selected, determines whether students can go back and change their answer. Follow instructions below to allow students' choices to be updated:

  1. Log in to your course.
  2. Find and click on the Group Choice, and select Edit settings underneath the Group Choice Administration block.
  3. Under Miscellaneous settings, find the option Allow choice to be updated. Select Yes.
  4. Click on Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

 

Showing Column for Unanswered

This can be enabled to show a separate column with students who have not yet answered. Follow instructions below to show a column for unanswered students: 

  1. Log in to your course.
  2. Find and click on the Group Choice, and select Edit settings underneath the Group Choice Administration block.
  3. Under Miscellaneous settings, find the option Show column for unanswered. Select Yes.
  4. Click on Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

 

Limiting Number of Responses

This allows you to limit the number of participants that can select each choice option. When the limit is reached, then no other students can select that option. If limits are disabled, then any number of participants can select each of the options.

Follow the instructions below to Enable a limit:

  1. Log in to your course.
  2. Find and click on the Group Choice, and select Edit settings underneath the Group Choice Administration block.
  3. Under Miscellaneous settings, find the option Limit the number of responses allowed. Select Enable.
  4. In the General limitation box below, input the number.
  5. (Optional) Click the Apply to all groups button. The number will then be applied to all options.
  6. Click on Save changes at the bottom of the page.

To check the limit for individual groups and adjust them separately, follow the instructions below:

  1. Under Groups, within the Selected Groups box, click on the group whose limit you want to adjust.
  2. On the right hand side, an option called Limit for (group name) should appear. In the box below it, you can input a number for that specific group.
  3. Click on Save changes at the bottom of the page.