Meet the Board of Trustees

Fiscal Year 2018-2019 (July 1 - June 30)


photo of Omel NievesMr. Omel A. Nieves 
Shareholder and COO
Hunt, Ortmann, Palffy, Nieves, Darling & Mah, Inc. 

Vice President

photo of Larry AdamsonMr. Larry Adamson
President & CEO, Emeritus, Board of Directors
The Midnight Mission




                      Joyce Williams
                      Associate Vice President

                      Financial Services
                      Cal State LA













Nelson Algaze headshot   Mr. Nelson Algaze
   Shlemmer Algaze Associates (SAA)


photo of Danielle Ares

Ms. Danielle Ares-Duran
Account Services Executive 
Los Angeles Clippers 

photo of Lorraine Bradley

Ms. Lorraine Bradley 
Retired Educator (LAUSD) 

photo of Sergio GonzalezMr. Sergio Gonzalez 
City Manager 
City of Azusa

Lina Hu headshot   Ms. Lina Hu
   Founder, Chairman & CEO
   Clipper Corporation


photo of Alev LewisMs. Alev Lewis 
Managing Director, Partner 
Acacia Wealth Advisors at HighTower 

photo of Rosario MarinMs. Rosario Marin 
Marin & Marin, LLC 



photo of Barry RondinellaMr. Barry Rondinella 
John Wayne Airport 




photo of Nilza SerranoMs. Nilza Serrano 
LA City Employees’ Retirement System

photo of Robert VelasquezMr. Robert Velasquez 
VP & Chief Accounting Officer 
Tejon Ranch Co. 

Faculty Representative

Leila Ricci headshot    Dr. Leila Ricci
    Associate Professor

    Special Education and Counseling
    Cal State LA


Robert Nissen headshot   Dr. Robert Nissen
   Professor and Chair

   Department of Biological Sciences
   Cal State LA 





Ex-Officio Trustees 

photo of Nancy Warter-PerezAcademic Senate Chair
Dr. Veena Prabhu 
Associate Professor
Department of Management
Cal State LA 

photo of Dwight Nakata

Alumni Association President
Mr. Dwight Nakata, CPA, CFP 
Financial Advisor 
Investment Adviser Representative 
Cetera Financial Specialists LLC 

                       Associated Students, Inc. Designee
                       Mr. Christopher Koo
                       Cal State LA

photo of Lisa ChavezVP for Administration and Chief Financial Officer
Ms. Lisa M. Chavez 
Cal State LA

photo of President Covino

University President
Dr. William A. Covino 
Cal State LA 

photo of Janet Dial

VP for University Advancement
Dr. Janet S. Dial 
Cal State LA