Modern Languages & Literatures | CSULA

Department of Modern Languages & Literatures

Location: King Hall D 1054

Phone: (323) 343-4230 Fax: (323) 343-4234

Office Hours: Monday-Thursday: 9:30am-6pm Friday: 8:30am-5pm

The schedule for Faculty Office Hours/Final Exams is available online. Please note that the final exam schedule is posted towards the end of the quarter. No office hours are held during the final exam week.

Faculty

CHINESE 

Professor Kylie Hsu

email: khsu2@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3033

Phone: 323.343.4275

 

Professor Qingyun Wu

email: qwu@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3030

Phone: 323.343.4242

 

FRENCH 

Professor Gretchen Angelo

email: gangelo2@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3033

Phone: 323.343.4246

 

KOREAN

Associate Professor Namhee Lee

email: nlee8@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3032

Phone: 323.343.4244

 

JAPANESE 

Associate Professor Chisato Koike

email: ckoike@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3054

Phone: 323.343.4237

 

Professor Sachiko Matsunaga 

email: smatsun@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3029

Phone: 323.343.4273

 

Professor Toshiko Yokota

email: tyokota@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3029

Phone: 323.343.4277

 

SPANISH 

Professor Gastón A. Alzate

email: galzate@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3031

Phone: 323.343.2267

 

Associate Professor Pablo Baler 

email: pbaler@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3039

Phone: 323.343.4243

 

Professor, Department Chair, María Dolores Costa

email: mcosta@calstatela.edu 

Office: KH A3054

Phone: 323.343.4230

 

Professor Domnita Dumitrescu

email: ddumitr@calstatela.edu

Office: KH D3086

Phone: 323.343.4235

 

Associate Professor Paola Marin

email: pmarin@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3031

Phone: 323.343.4239

 

Professor, Principal Advisor, Associate Chair Elena Ruzickova Retzer

email: eretzer@calstatela.edu

Office: KH D3086

Phone: 323.343.4247

 

Professor Alejandro Solomianski

email: asolomi@calstatela.edu

Office: KH A3032

Phone: 323.343.4241

 

Staff

Secretary Mai Tran

email: MTran@CSLANET.CalStateLA.edu

Office: KH D 1054

Phone: 323.343.4230

 

Advisement

1st week: walk-in basis; first come, first serve

2nd-10th week: by appointments only

Please schedule your appointment in KH D1054 to meet with the advisers.

Dr. Elena Retzer     eretzer@calstatela.edu     KH D1042     (323) 343-4230     

Dr. Maria Costa     mcosta@calstatela.edu     KH D 1054     (323) 343-4230

 

Language Lab Director

Dr. Chisato Koike     ckoike@calstatela.edu     KH A3054     (323) 343-4237

 

Language Program Coordinators

Chinese     Dr. Qingyun Wu     qwu@calstatela.edu     KH A3030     (323) 343-4242

French     Dr. Gretchen Angelo     gangelo2@calstatela.edu     KH A3033     (323) 343-4246

Japanese     Dr. Toshiko Yokota     tyokota@calstatela.edu     KH A3029     (323) 343-4277

Korean     Dr. Namhee Lee     nlee8@calstatela.edu     KH A3032     (323) 343-4244

Spanish     Dr. Elena Retzer eretzer@calstatela.edu     KH A 3039     (323) 343-4245